Scream: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 23, 2019
Partly due to formal inefficiency, partly due to an uneven focus, very little of the first episode of Scream works.
August 23, 2019
If the blend of CW or ABC Family teen nonsense and slasher appeals to you, then much of Scream the TV Series is itself good fun.
August 22, 2019
Scream: The TV Series does exactly what it says on the tin which is no bad thing.
August 22, 2019
The writers try to copy the conceit of the original Scream, a horror movie built on droll horror-movie references. But the efforts are often clumsy, flagged with a wink-winking that deadens the gimmick.
August 22, 2019
Scream does really want to be Friday Night Lights, but the writing, perhaps inadvertently, boils the characters down to archetypes, which, again, would suggest the purposefully thin machinations of something like Piranha 3D.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 22, 2019
This show does what it is designed to do. It gives you cheap thrills, introduces some very attractive characters, and makes you wonder who exactly is killing all of these nice (read: really, really mean) teenagers
August 22, 2019
There was a lot to like about this premiere. It set up the storylines really well for the season, but at the same time it left a lot to be desired.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5.0
August 22, 2019
Trust me, no-one was more surprised than me find that I didn't just enjoy the new Scream, I actually think it's one of the best, most clever reboots I've ever seen.
August 22, 2019
What I know for sure is that the old, iconic Scream mask is gone, but the new one in place will give you chills.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 22, 2019
Scream: The TV Series is exactly what a reboot should be.
March 1, 2019
Although [Scream] took the story in a different direction, it still paid homage to the original films.
October 23, 2015
There are one or two gory and well-mounted horror sequences, some smart lines, intermittently sharp commentary on online bullying, but Scream: The TV Series is a mostly dull and frustrating experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 2, 2015
An incredibly MTV-in-2015 way to unravel a mystery: ridiculous, meme-obsessed, self-mocking, and fun if you don't think about it too much. Which basically sums up the first season of the network's Scream.
September 2, 2015
...(not) the impactful one-two punch (ending) one would have hoped for...the plot and the denouement end up better than three of the four seasons of American Horror Story...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
August 11, 2015
Suspenseful and fun, this new MTV show is a real scream.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4
July 8, 2015
Most of my issue with the pilot comes from execution; ostensibly, they took what was best about Scream and tried to clumsily bend it to the confines of a television show.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
July 7, 2015
Extreme graphic violence in TV retread of slasher series.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 6, 2015
MTV's television series based on the popular franchise has the same exact archly self-aware tone, but the novelty is long gone, and what we're left with is pointless homage.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 6, 2015
The biggest hindrance the program faces, though, might be in the visual limitations its medium affords.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
July 2, 2015
Scream is self-aware - not only of its genre, but of its intended audience.
Page 1 of 3