Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2015 Christmas Special) - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2015 Christmas Special) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 15, 2018
The Abominable Bride plays with the characters and the spectators, counting on their complicity. Without it, the series would not be what it is today... [Full Review in Spanish]
March 6, 2018
The Abominable Bride showed Sherlock's creators gleefully having their cake, eating it, and sharing with us a delicious, nutty, nourishing slice.
October 13, 2017
Fan service was the source of series three's problems and it's a problem here again. I just hope Moffat and Gatiss don't worry so much about appeasing Tumblr's appetite for homoerotic subtext in series four. I miss Sherlock's puzzle box mysteries.
May 25, 2017
There are more themes, twists, realities and awkwardly placed social commentary that one can usually keep up with. But in a completely Sherlockian way, it all falls into place in the end.
February 17, 2017
They'd run around in the London fog solving a spooky murder case about a vengeful bride returned from the dead. At least, that's what we were promised. Instead, we got something so much better -- and so much weirder.
May 5, 2016
In The Abominable Bride, there are moments of flippant humor, ghost story leanings, introspective character moments, and of course, mystery. This is all well and good, and there are moments of each that work wonderfully and moments of all that don't.
April 6, 2016
As a taster for series four, it's a reminder that Sherlock will always be appointment TV, whatever size screen you watch it on.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 12, 2016
Already-converted Sherlock fans will be in heaven, while those new to this adaptation are given a self-contained story to lure them in.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 11, 2016
A story that promotes and provokes communal dialogue not only about this episode and its place within Sherlock's canon, but about storytelling itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 4, 2016
I flip-flopped a lot during the 90-minute special, but in the end I think it proved that there is still life left in Sherlock, and that the chemistry between the show's two leading men is still there.
January 4, 2016
Its head-spinning, mind palace-plumbing narrative is so rich and textured - and the Gothic shadow-and-fog production is so spot-on - that I'm tempted to say it's the Best Episode Ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 4, 2016
Moffat and Gatiss just filmed 90 minutes of the internal monologue of a tortured queer genius drug addict... wrapped it up in a gothic mystery, and then gave it to us as a late Christmas present.
Full Review | Original Score: A++
January 4, 2016
If anything, The Abominable Bride was a nice piece of fan fiction that used the "It was all a dream" convention to break from the canon a bit.
January 4, 2016
No matter whether it's 1895 or 2014, Sherlock Holmes and John Watson solving crimes at 221B Baker Street are a constant, and there's a simplicity there which the show has lost.
January 4, 2016
Points for trying, Sherlock. Truly. However mishandled, any piece of mainstream entertainment that aims to raise issues of inequality should be praised. But my oh my, they really didn't stick the landing.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 4, 2016
It could have been a lean and nimble little ghost story, a holiday treat. Instead, it was a self-indulgent mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 4, 2016
The Abominable Bride, whose commitment to producing new Sherlock content at all costs renders it knotty, obtuse, and strangely paced.
January 3, 2016
After a sedately atmospheric start, this dazzling adventure unfolded like an origami swan of surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 3, 2016
If it had focused entirely on the Victorian setting and its story, The Abominable Bride could easily have been one of the best Sherlock episodes so far. Unfortunately, it did not.
January 3, 2016
This was a bold and brave way to mix up the Sherlock formula that might have been a little too ingenious for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Page 1 of 2