Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2015 Christmas Special) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 13, 2019
No doubt about it, this was a bravura display from the writers and their leading men.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 13, 2019
I'm not sure Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat quite pull off the ole old-timey-yet-contemporary Sherlock in this special episode but it's a glorious ride all the same.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 13, 2019
The Abominable Bride is a meticulously crafted, wonderfully atmospheric piece of filmmaking. It could well stand on its own, without the series' help or notoriety.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 12, 2019
[The Abominable Bride] might have been better if its creators were more familiar with the common foibles of fanfic as a genre.
April 12, 2019
We watched all our favorite characters march around in stuffy suits/dresses to solve an unremarkable crime that doesn't have anything to do with the current story.
April 12, 2019
It contained everything that we love about Sherlock: all those cutting putdowns, all-round spot-on performances, cinematic camerawork, and Andrew Scott back as Moriarty.
April 12, 2019
In both the Victorian and contemporary settings, it's a delight to watch the easy chemistry between Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman, while Andrew Scott's deranged Moriarty lights up his scenes with Sherlock.
April 12, 2019
Cumberbatch has taken the possession of his part so successfully that his upturned collar now feels as much a Holmesean signature as a deerstalker cap.
April 12, 2019
The holiday special for Sherlock, The Abominable Bride, is a total disaster, but there are genuine moments of fun littered throughout.
April 12, 2019
The real sin of The Abominable Bride was that it just wasn't a particularly good case. And part of it may have been because of its truncated timeline, due to the show's other ghost.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 12, 2019
The flashbacks are indeed fun, but the interference of the present renders "the bride" [Natasha O'Keeffe] a mere plot device; a secondary character when compared to Moriarty and the very real present day threat.
April 12, 2019
We'd met Sherlock's "mind palace" in earlier episodes, but to have an entire episode staged in it was an audacious and not wholly successful move.
April 12, 2019
In the end, The Abominable Bride had its delights, but it was hard not to reconcile the necessity of an "It was all a dream" episode when we get so few installments of this detective drama to begin with.
April 12, 2019
Everything about this episode feels unnecessary and overly confusing.
April 12, 2019
From the moody streets of Victorian London, to the stunning costumes, to the atmospheric mystery, it's gorgeous. Unfortunately, the content of the episode leaves a lot to be desired.
March 30, 2019
Crisp, cunning, mighty confusing and enough to leave you with a concussion.
March 30, 2019
This was an appropriate Sherlock tale that stayed true to the series' interpretation of the character while setting up the fourth season return of the detective's archenemy.
July 16, 2018
The Abominable Bride plays with the characters and the spectators, counting on their complicity. Without it, the series would not be what it is today... [Full Review in Spanish]
March 6, 2018
The Abominable Bride showed Sherlock's creators gleefully having their cake, eating it, and sharing with us a delicious, nutty, nourishing slice.
October 13, 2017
Fan service was the source of series three's problems and it's a problem here again. I just hope Moffat and Gatiss don't worry so much about appeasing Tumblr's appetite for homoerotic subtext in series four. I miss Sherlock's puzzle box mysteries.
Page 1 of 2