Shots Fired: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 14, 2018
Shots Fired, from what I can tell, will benefit from not being scared to expand perspectives. It's also showing sides of the story that some people don't want to hear.
May 16, 2018
It all builds into a powerful depiction of an America in which police brutality and corporate corruption are never far from the surface.
February 21, 2018
Shots Fired isn't afraid to dive into the kind of racial politicization we've seen in the last few years.
January 11, 2018
Even with its flaws, Shots Fired is evocative television, equal parts mystery and medicine, and worth a slice of your time each week.
September 25, 2017
Rather than being triggered or even inspired, I was wholly unmoved.
April 14, 2017
It's a tough crime series, almost documentary in style, about what police call "a good kill", set in black neighbourhoods we rarely see on TV. It's directed with cool competence, and given a highly cinematic look by director of photography Tami Reiker.
April 12, 2017
Gripping and complicated, we don't know much yet about what's really going on in Shots Fired, but I do know that whatever is ahead is going to be absolutely devastating.
April 7, 2017
Rather than being a portrait of a single character, or a single tragedy, the Bythewoods use Shots Fired to construct a portrait of a neighborhood... and the surrounding worlds that have little to do with [it] until the news cameras arrive.
April 3, 2017
Shots Fired isn't afraid to tackle heavy social with smarts and nuance
March 28, 2017
There are two really compelling reasons to watch: James and Lathan. You'll wonder why she isn't a bigger TV star, and you'll expect him to be one soon.
March 28, 2017
Compelling drama tackles race from multiple points of view.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 24, 2017
Like American Crime or We Rise Up, it's still compelling viewing worth some attention.
March 23, 2017
Shots Fired has melded commercial and artistic impulses to create a highly entertaining series about entrenched racism.
March 23, 2017
While it's guilty of some poor storytelling choices and isn't always subtle about the ways it draws inspiration from real-world headlines, there's enough compelling material here to warrant a look.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.7/10
March 23, 2017
It's rare to see such a cross-section of life on TV, but Shots Fired, with empathy, grit and outrage, pulls it off.
Top Critic
March 23, 2017
Given how polarized our real-life political dialogue has become, it's great to see an ambitious series tackle a tough social issue by asking viewers to feel a little empathy, first.
March 22, 2017
Shots Fired doesn't quite hit its target, but it's far from a misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
March 22, 2017
While Shots Fired lumbers as an issue drama, it's diverting enough as a cop show.
March 22, 2017
It's a fine drama, and Fox should be applauded for commissioning and airing this project.
March 22, 2017
It'll be worth sticking it out, because when it does manage to stay on course, Shots Fired is a pertinent and riveting drama.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 3