Siren: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Siren: Season 1 Reviews

March 30, 2018
Perhaps like the amphibious fish that grew legs, the series could evolve into a fully realized something... anything. But as it stands, it's best to resist Freeform's "Siren" song or you might find that you'll just want to throw it back.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 26, 2018
This first season surprised me, because while it was clearly limited by their network's budget and "family-friendly" vibe, it was violent, uncomfortable, and just downright creepy.
June 22, 2018
Although mermaids are a well-known folklore creature, there aren't many TV shows that cover the topic, which gives Siren an advantage because this is entirely like nothing we've seen before.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 26, 2018
Siren is a very modern twist on an old story, and it's also some very entertaining and intriguing television.
April 19, 2018
Whatever it is, I am excited to keep watching. I'm just paranoid about what Freeform might do to undermine it.
March 29, 2018
Set at an expert pace...Siren expertly portrays the dichotomy between the majority and the "other."
March 5, 2018
Siren, giving us the fearsome killer mermaids we can all empathize with.
April 16, 2018
Looks like Freeform's new show has legs... and also a pretty intimidating tail. If Siren can fulfill the promise of its first few episodes, it might just grow into one of the most innovative shows on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 30, 2018
The characters have strong personality traits, and they feel like fully formed people with different driving forces that make sense. It is so easy to reason why each of them does what they do, and it has only been two episodes.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 29, 2018
The show has successfully turned those beautiful mythical creatures into something far more dangerous than what we typically see, and it seems to be going in all the right directions because of it.
March 27, 2018
With a lead character and storyline that are so much more than they seem, Siren is worth the deep dive in.
April 19, 2018
The show has small-town mystery elements, frenetic action sequences, and of course, homages to Jaws.
March 29, 2018
A very strange but fitfully entertaining series.
March 20, 2018
Everyone wears their heart on their sleeve and by god they are trying as hard as they can to deliver the premise...Siren is worth a look for anyone craving their next YA fix. It's not the best the genre has to offer, but it's far from the worst.
April 19, 2018
Siren's Ryn isn't your typical Freeform heroine - and not just because she eats live rats and sleeps in an old abandoned boat in the woods.
March 23, 2018
Mermaid tale is violent, suspenseful, and thrilling drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 30, 2018
Siren looks like it's doing its own thing, and it's a good look. Even if it does look a little weird.