Star Trek: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 30, 2017
It was nothing short of revolutionary, granting TV a few of the first Asian and black characters who weren't reduced to stereotypes.
October 30, 2017
Perhaps the most enduring and all-embracing pop-culture phenomenon of our time.
October 30, 2017
The accent was less on the super-duper gadgetry usually associated with travel and in the heavens than on astronautical soap opera that suffers from interminable flight drag.
October 24, 2017
If you're a science fiction fan, as I am, you'll have fun riding the with Star Trek into the realms of fantasy. It looks like a sure zoomer to popularity.
October 13, 2017
And though the message of peace, progress, and tolerance may seem corny today, I happen to think those are still good ideas. Granted, when you judge it purely as television, the Original Series is a bit weak.
October 13, 2017
Fortunately, the series also had a murderer's row of writing talent that included Harlan Ellison, Robert Bloch, Richard Matheson, and Theodore Sturgeon, as well as characters that might not have been conceived as icons, but easily became them.
September 18, 2018
Thoughtful, intelligent, and immensely entertaining from the jump.
May 22, 2018
The original Star Trek introducing a broad audience to the joys of science fiction and providing a more optimistic view of the future at the height of Viet Nam, the Cold War and the struggles of the Civil Rights Movement.
October 30, 2017
As an adult, I could see past the things that once put me off: the dubious special effects, exaggerated makeup and occasionally histrionic acting.
October 30, 2017
We talk about how it was the show with the first interracial kiss or about how it's the show that depicts a positive outcome for our stupid, squabbling race. We always focus on these things and what we rarely focus on is how fun it is.
October 30, 2017
Star Trek has always shone a light on mankind's noblest qualities, but it also reflects our greatest faults. If it takes another 50 years, or 500, let us all hope we start to learn some of those lessons.
October 30, 2017
The original series still holds the silver medal in my heart because it went where no other show had, and was radically, profoundly ahead of its time. I'm also a fan of fist fights on cheesily decorated planet landscapes.
October 30, 2017
[The City on the Edge of Forever is] Star Trek at its absolute best.
October 30, 2017
This one looks like the son of Twilight Zone, cousin to The Outer Limits and neighbor of Lost in Space, combining the better elements of all those shows.
October 13, 2017
It's had high points, and the occasional trough, but I've found it massively entertaining.
October 13, 2017
A TV-friendly combination of campy action, loosely-clad chicks, and the allegory and philosophical speculation of then-current dramatic series like The Twilight Zone and The Outer Limits.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 13, 2017
Despite the modest budget necessitating some daft-looking species, occasionally wonky sets and amusingly clumsy shifts between the stars and their stunt doubles, many of the stories offered thoughtful science-fiction that tackled ethical issues.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 13, 2017
[Leonard] Nimoy's exceptional performance was just part of the considerable charm of the original series.
October 13, 2017
TOS season one is one of the best seasons of television Trek has ever produced.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 3, 2017
You could say of all the things we've learned through the first season of Star Trek, maybe the most important is, sometimes plot holes aren't so bad after all.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 2