Star Trek: Picard: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 16, 2020
Picard brings the unpredictable to a series that has relied on happy endings for so long; we have grown up now, and we are able to see more of this universe, both good and bad.
February 7, 2020
Sir Patrick Stewart delivers the best thing I've ever seen in the world of Star Trek. 'Star Trek: Picard' is flawless.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
February 7, 2020
Star Trek: Picard is Star Trek, so there's a rulebook on the table; but it's wonderfully unpredictable, turning what historically risked looking like a packaged theme park ride into a properly thrilling narrative rollercoaster.
February 3, 2020
Our hero may be getting on a bit... but as long as Picard remains pissed off I'll remain engaged. I only hope the writers make it so.
January 31, 2020
Patrick Stewart could make reading the phone book out loud compelling - but the phone book has the advantage of moving naturally from A, to B, to C. 'Remembrance' is leaning on its classically trained frontman just as much, but lacks the clarity.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
January 31, 2020
No matter the warp speed setting that a streaming platform like Amazon Prime puts on the budget and feel of Picard, the reality looks like a show that finds it hard to escape the gravitational pull of its past.
January 30, 2020
'Star Trek: Picard' is a series that takes time to start, and that once it does, it's not 100% convincing to continue further. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 29, 2020
It feels like a vast universe even if we're only seeing one corner of it... like those old stories of wonder and discovery. It feels like a show about what it means to be human, and how kindness and generosity of spirit are at the root of those answers.
January 28, 2020
Watching them piece together the puzzle makes for an exhilarating opener that's full of surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 28, 2020
The real reason to tune in is still Stewart. His Picard is in his 90s, a frail old man who seemingly has given up on the world. It takes multiple episodes for him to "boldly go" one last time, but watching Stewart take that journey is a joy.
January 28, 2020
Compared to the likes of 'Star Trek: Discovery', which had a rocky first season and a middling to decent second season, 'Star Trek: Picard' steps off the transporter pad (sorry) fully formed and realised.
January 27, 2020
In Star Trek: Picard, the sentiment behind it feels richer. This trip isn't only about where we're going. It's also about where we are, and where we've been.
January 27, 2020
Picard feels less like a show dead-set on being the most Star Trek property it can be and more the product of a group of clever writers (and self-professed fans).
January 27, 2020
Return of beloved sci-fi captain has adventure, violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 27, 2020
Star Trek: Picard breathes fresh life into a beloved story, expanding this universe with the heart we've come to expect from the series and a mission statement that stays true what Star Trek has always been.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 27, 2020
Overall, it felt eerily successful, a bit like when McDonald's started selling salads and decent coffee.
January 27, 2020
It's all totally bonkers - but strangely gripping escapism.
January 27, 2020
Making it all work so well is Patrick Stewart who amid lush photography and digital effects, again gives this character a classical air.
January 24, 2020
Even if the series could move faster, Patrick Stewart still has tons of charisma as the thoughtful, reticent lead.
January 24, 2020
By Star Trek standards, Picard appears uncomplicated and down-to-earth (literally), relatively unencumbered by impenetrable lore, alternate timelines, or detours to the mirror universe.
Page 1 of 3