Succession: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Succession: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 25, 2018
It has good performances and some memorable scenes, but it feels like a get together we have attended many times before.
June 24, 2018
The best thing that one can say about the new HBO drama, Succession, is that it is the dramatic version of Arrested Development.
May 31, 2018
Only a few minutes into HBO's new corporate family drama Succession, I found myself wondering who, exactly, was supposed to enjoy this slog of a series.
June 5, 2018
You're left with the feeling of a series willfully missing its own most interesting points.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
May 31, 2018
At first engaging, then slowly, inexorably, Succession turns into work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 2, 2018
Jesse Armstrong's speciality is writing stingers and elaborately vile speeches for his characters to deliver. This is simply showboating - not dialogue that can be convincingly responded to by the other characters. And they all speak this way.
June 1, 2018
Although the Roys are far from the first ethically bankrupt brood to darken prestige cable TV with their reprehensible ways, they never get a chance to grow on us or fully develop as characters, despite the efforts of a strong ensemble cast.
June 14, 2018
Cox is always entertaining, and there is some good dialogue in the show, although it's hard at times to really care which of his scheming children is ascendant.
May 31, 2018
"Succession" makes it clear that the Roys are not especially nice people. They are also, alas, not especially fascinating. Pink slips for everyone.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 29, 2018
Succession is an addictive show with its tense family drama, pitch-black comedy, and its comfortableness with having no redeeming characters as an open rebuke of our twisted wealth obsession.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 10, 2018
We should spare time for the Roys. They're only the most exciting commentary and take on wealth in America in the past decade of television.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 27, 2018
The show is not just an indictment of the white American elite, it's an indictment of America as a whole-its immovable institutions and its faltering leadership at a time of great global change.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 8, 2018
Succession, from The Thick of It writer Jesse Armstrong, cracks open the skulls of the ultra-rich to discover exactly which parts of the Roy children's brains have been replaced with the words "trust fund."
August 3, 2018
As a fan of those shows - and virtually everything else Armstrong has worked on - I wanted to love this one too. But I couldn't, not quite.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 26, 2018
I could watch these idiots grope around in the darkness of their own gilded cages forever...Succession is well-shot and has firecracker dialogue and a talented cast that is easy on the eyes. But it doesn't elevate its characters...it exposes them.
August 10, 2018
Succession successfully balances the line between drama and dark comedy. It's perfectly written and it's one of the best series of the year. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 7, 2018
Succession plays out like a typical drama about snarky, rich, terrible people, but its cringe-worthy willingness to explore just how horrible these people are is one of its biggest strengths.
October 5, 2018
Impossible to pick a favourite performance overall, but I'd put high up Matthew Macfadyen's portrayal of Tom, a grovelling insipid homunculus so exquisitely done he was like a Dickens grotesque.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 18, 2018
It is hard to relate to the über-rich characters of Succession, but boy is it fun to luxuriate in their #RichPeopleProblems.
Page 1 of 4