The Newsroom - Rotten Tomatoes

The Newsroom (2012 - 2014)

The Newsroom (2012 - 2014)





Series Info

A drama set at a fictional cable-news network re-creates actual events to show how they're covered by "News Night" anchor Will McAvoy and his staff.more


The Newsroom: Season 3
Critics Consensus: With an energetic new arc and deeper character development, The Newsroom finds itself rejuvenated in its third season -- even if it still occasionally serves as a soapbox for creator Aaron Sorkin.

2014, HBO, 6 episodes

Critics Consensus: Thanks to focused storytelling and a more restrained tone, The Newsroom finds surer footing in its second season, even if it still occasionally succumbs to Aaron Sorkin's most indulgent whims.

2013, HBO, 9 episodes

Critics Consensus: Though it sports good intentions and benefits from moments of stellar dialogue and a talented cast, The Newsroom may feel too preachy, self satisfied, and cynical to appeal to a wide range of viewers.

2012, HBO, 10 episodes

News and Interviews

Series Details

TV Network: HBO
Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2012
Genre: Drama
Executive Producers: Aaron Sorkin , Alan Poul , Scott Rudin , Denis Biggs , Paul Lieberstein
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews
Trailers & Clips


Jeff Daniels
as Will McAvoy
Emily Mortimer
as MacKenzie McHale
Sam Waterston
as Charlie Skinner
Alison Pill
as Margaret Jordan
Olivia Munn
as Sloan Sabbith
Dev Patel
as Neal Sampat
Thomas Sadoski
as Don Keefer
Tom Sadoski
as Don Keefer
David Harbour
as Elliot Hirsch
Hope Davis
as Nina Howard
Paul Schneider
as Brian Brenner
Chris Messina
as Reese Lansing
B.J. Novak
as Lucas Pruit
David Krumholtz
as Dr. Jack Habib
Adam Arkin
as Adam Roth
Hamish Linklater
as Jerry Dantana
Terry Crews
as Lonny Church
Marcia Gay Harden
as Rebecca Halliday
Kat Dennings
as Blair Lansing
Jon Tenney
as Wade Campbell
Jake McDorman
as Tate Brady
David Cromer
as Moderator
Brian Howe
as Barry Lasenthal
Damon Gupton
as Sutton Wall
Stephen Henderson
as Solomon Hancock
Grace Gummer
as Hallie Shea
Aya Cash
as Shelly Wexler
Chris Smith
as Randy Lansing
Philip Baker Hall
as Bryce Delancy
Constance Zimmer
as Taylor Warren
Ben Koldyke
as Cyrus West
Eve Gordon
as Phylis Greer
Kevin Rankin
as Cell mate
Joanna Gleason
as Nancy Skinner
Merle Dandridge
as Maria Guerrero
JD Cullum
as Frank Guidry
Tara Summers
as Bethany
Patrick Fabian
as Tony Hart
Adina Porter
as Kendra James
Yuki Matsuzaki
as Daisuke Tanaka
Ned Vaughn
as Dick Warren
Show More Cast

Discussion Forum

Discuss The Newsroom on our TV talk forum!