The Strain: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 24, 2019
It's this deft switch in tone... that inspires my confidence that interest in The Strain will spread.
January 24, 2019
Some of the most intense and disturbing scenes ever on television.
January 24, 2019
Fans of gore will love what the special effects crew has come up with. These aren't sexy, True Blood-style vampires.
November 15, 2018
A B series in all its aspects. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 15, 2018
There is a real sense of urgency and mounting dread as the series unfolds. It never slows down, it never lets up.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
July 2, 2018
The joy of Del Toro's gleefully active imagination feels completely absent in the muddy landscape of The Strain.
June 9, 2018
We just can't seem to quit you, The Strain. You're never so bad that we feel our intelligence is being insulted and in your best moments (and there are several), you come off like a fun B-grade horror flick.
November 6, 2017
It sometimes plays like Blade II if Wesley Snipes had never shown up, but as the vampire apocalypse inexorably builds it makes for a skin-crawling and highly addictive watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 17, 2016
The Strain is a runway model of a show: it's beautiful and sleek and seriously dumb.
February 26, 2015
One of the best things that the show has going for it is Stoll, a fine actor who usually shines in secondary roles, as he did on the first season of House of Cards. Here, he gets to be heroic and it suits him well.
August 4, 2014
It's all in keeping with what The Strain fans (and I am one) love about the show. Everything about it can be retroactively explained by a feat of exposition the writers didn't bother to include in the narrative.
July 24, 2014
Mature horror series is too dark and intense for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 14, 2014
Del Toro's love of special effects and genuine scares, and his delight in mixing humor and horror, run throughout The Strain.
July 14, 2014
We're in the hands of professionals who know exactly how to scare us, and make it look easy.
July 14, 2014
Look: I am going to give The Strain a chance, if only because it's refreshing to see vampires as disgusting, infected creatures instead of sparkly, pouting little bitches.
July 14, 2014
When you're plastering posters of a worm digging its way into an eyeball all over the place, you better earn that eerie imagery and Guillermo del Toro's The Strain absolutely does.
July 14, 2014
This is a cinematic experience, with vibrant hyper-real colors, a brilliant score and an outstanding cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
July 14, 2014
The Strain is entertaining in an almost campy way, but also plenty gross (billboards promoting the show were removed in Los Angeles after complaints from motorists), so it's maybe not for the squeamish.
July 14, 2014
The show is off to a reasonably engaging start, with ultra-stylish direction on the pilot episode from Del Toro himself, deftly avoiding the typical horror show look in favor of a much more colorful palette than the genre usually affords itself.
July 14, 2014
As much as I rolled my eyes at the first few hours, I never quite managed to tear them away. And by the time I got to the end of the third episode, I couldn't help but wonder if I too had been infected.
Page 1 of 4