The Amazing Race: Season 1 Reviews

March 26, 2019
This has the makings of the best reality show since "Survivor" -- it's a fun, exciting concept with spectacular locations. As is the case with this type of show, casting is everything -- and the contestants here look great.
March 26, 2019
This is "reality TV" on an epic scale, and the show offers a non-stop barrage of exciting chases, twisted road-blocks, outrageous challenges, and lots of real heart and emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 26, 2019
Host Phil Keoghan took a refreshingly minimalist approach. In this first season, he barely appeared on camera at all.
March 26, 2019
The [series] premiere will keep you amused while the players hustle from New York City's Central Park to Kennedy Airport for a trip to Johannesburg.
March 26, 2019
Unfortunately, watching harried Americans run in and out of airports is not fascinating television.
March 26, 2019
The show's global scope, scenery and overall sense of adventure make it a veritable Doctor Zhivago of the genre compared with most of the swill lately in play.
March 26, 2019
It might seem tiresome to watch people perform the same stunts over and over, but their distinctive personalities and reactions make the challenges new each time.
March 26, 2019
The visuals are crisp, and the ground and aerial photography help give the proper scope of what the gamers are up against.
March 26, 2019
Classier than Fear Factor, clearer than The Mole and swifter than Survivor, CBS' The Amazing Race jolts the reality format with tantalizing thrills.
March 26, 2019
Please God, forgive me. I love this show. I never thought I'd love a reality show... But this one actually is so good I am already addicted.
March 26, 2019
"The Amazing Race," premiering on CBS tonight, brings new energy and respectability to the "reality" genre popularized by the same network's "Survivor" -- and surpasses it in spectacle and human drama.
March 26, 2019
It's an entertaining show that offers an amazing look at the world around us and adventures that most people only dream about.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2018
With this thrilling trip around the world, CBS blows away the Summer of Rats -- thank you Fear Factor -- while creating a terrific companion piece to the net's comparatively tranquil Survivor.