The Ben Stiller Show: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ben Stiller Show: Season 1 Reviews

September 13, 2018
More than its right-place-right-time situation at the center of the early-Nineties comedy universe, what makes Stiller's show stand out in retrospect is the depth of its aesthetics.
September 7, 2018
The Ben Stiller Show was about as good as sketch comedy got.
September 7, 2018
While it can be pretty funny, The Ben Stiller Show is a mess, Stiller and his cohorts trying a little bit of everything to see if it'll work.
September 7, 2018
The Ben Stiller Show wasn't just ahead of its time, it was a total anomaly.
September 7, 2018
The star and co-creator of The Ben Stiller Show is a card, a caution and a hoot. When he's at the top of his form, he's brilliant. When he's not, he's still funnier than those people on that Saturday Night Comedy Show You're Sick of Reading About.
September 7, 2018
Stiller's got the look -- the Fox TV, youth look. Besides having the look, he also has some talent as a filmmaker, comedian and actor. He especially has a nice feel for video and youth culture.
September 7, 2018
Masters of comic juxtaposition, the show's writers cross-pollinated deviant strands of entertainment to create hybrids that were often both funny and genuinely satirical.
September 7, 2018
a sketch show lives and dies by its cast, and The Ben Stiller Show's small but potent troupe... should ensure a continuing cult devotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 7, 2018
Along with Stiller's considerable acting gifts, the premiere's staging and devastatingly clever writing form the underpinning for its success. Viewers should be so glad The Ben Stiller Show is having this conversation.
September 7, 2018
Stiller rises above simple media parody. He gets at the heart of the whole phony, pathetic show-business ethos.
September 6, 2018
Stiller and his small cast of writer-players don't make fun of one thing at a time: They combine their subjects, creating rich layers of ridicule.
Full Review | Original Score: A