The Closer: Season 7 Reviews

September 25, 2020
As a series, its quality and sizable audience helped put TNT and its "We Know Drama" mantra on the map,... For that and seven seasons of entertainment, we should all say Thank you, thank you so much.
August 14, 2018
The show's increasing silliness had begun to verge on self-parody -- not the right drift for a vehicle that had won Sedgwick a drama Emmy.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 13, 2016
There were a number of lighthearted episodes that never quite worked. But the dramatic material was, and still is, formidable.
August 13, 2012
After seven seasons, The Closer is leaving the air in a condition that's far from its best.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 13, 2012
The intensity of the storyline and of Brenda's final few acts were jaw-dropping.
August 13, 2012
Although a little too comic for some tastes the past couple of seasons, it is still watchable drama with a great cast.
August 10, 2012
There are many reasons The Closer has been a reliable hit for TNT since its 2005 premiere: decent scripts, a winning ensemble of character actors and, most of all, having Kyra Sedgwick in the lead role.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 9, 2012
Tonight's return is strong enough that I won't miss the final six.
July 5, 2012
The show has just kept getting better as justice has become more personal for Brenda.
July 12, 2011
This is Sedgwick's show, a star vehicle all the way.
July 11, 2011
What would be an admirable message suffers for a lack of nuance.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
July 11, 2011
Good start to The End and a major twist.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 11, 2011
The Closer is still the same fast-paced cop drama. It's just that now we also have the subtext of finding out what road we take to the close.
July 11, 2011
Frankly, I love The Closer, the cops are like family to me after all these years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5