The Deuce: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
December 14, 2017
The Deuce is intelligent, sensitive, and fun, a show about exploitation that is not exploitative, a blast that's also a tragedy.
November 20, 2017
For everyone who's dumbfounded by the mountain of sexual-harassment claims that rises hourly, and wondering, "How did we get here?" - this show provides a compelling answer.
October 30, 2017
After watching the first few episodes, I had no desire to watch it again. I caught up with it later and was glad that I did, though there were many moments -- intentional, I'm certain -- where watching it was an endurance test.
September 19, 2017
It is a coolly mesmeric depiction of the dynamics of power, delusion and exploitation.
September 18, 2017
The Deuce is certainly a feminist series-and half its directors are female-but its smartest move is to resist turning sex into a thesis, exploiting the contradictions instead.
September 14, 2017
For your money and their effort, the show promises a sensual yet sufficiently gritty, occasionally violent and nostalgically illicit act of time travel...
July 9, 2019
The Deuce may be the best thing David Simon's given us since The Wire.
December 13, 2018
Builds methodically, creating the kinds of three-dimensional, realistic people one can't help but think about long after each episode is over.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 27, 2018
As both a critique of capitalism and an understated ode to multiculturalism, The Deuce is perhaps the most uniquely American show on TV.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 9, 2018
...During a large part of the narrative, The Deuce manages to get us hooked and interested in the characters. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 28, 2018
This is still a show where it's more important to follow the dollar bills in the envelopes than the premium cable nudity.
June 1, 2018
In The Deuce, the grimy heart of New York is nonetheless full of humanity.
March 30, 2018
The oppressive male menace that so pervades shows like Top of the Lake is almost entirely absent.
March 27, 2018
The Deuce is a distilled envelope of Simon's thematic and stylistic obsessions. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 14, 2018
There's something you get from a Simon production that has become easier and easier to detect as the views stack up: his sense of timing.
December 29, 2017
This generosity of spirit is the show's greatest gift. Where other series use sex as titillation, The Deuce prefers to examine the nature of desire, both fantasy and reality.
December 29, 2017
The Deuce is violent and sexy, but also carries just enough social commentary to let you tell yourself you're watching the violence and sex for utterly worthy purposes.
December 20, 2017
There's lots to unpack, and lots of people to keep track of.
November 1, 2017
I wanted to love The Deuce. I didn't.
October 30, 2017
In its first season, The Deuce executed the trickiest version of that alchemy yet. This show isn't sentimental about '70s New York; in fact, it's careful to show how the New York of the '70s contained within it the seeds of the New York of the 2010s.
Page 1 of 5