The Fall: Season 1 Reviews

April 3, 2019
It was very slick, very knowing and Anderson and Dornan were actually very good. But if there is a more Athena version of a serial killer out there, I'm yet to see it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 3, 2019
Skin-crawling intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 3, 2019
The Fall has been fabulous telly in every sense, and this ending should not leave fans unsatisfied.
April 3, 2019
This show is binge watching at its best; it's at once compulsively watchable and intelligent, well-written and beautifully acted with compelling performances to boot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 3, 2019
Appreciating we're only a fifth of the way through, the pity is that The Fall thinks by revealing its killer from the off, it's reinvigorating the genre, when all it's done is undo the valves and let the tension guff out.
April 3, 2019
The Fall is a top-flight mystery that taps into political tensions in Northern Ireland and the troubling undercurrent of violence against women.
April 3, 2019
You want this monster caught, and yet every time he trips up, you wince. With only five episodes, The Fall makes for a perfect, not-too-long marathon.
August 20, 2018
Stella Gibson is an incredibly fascinating character - crummy accent by Gillian Anderson aside.
September 12, 2017
The Fall presents voyeurism both as a mode of entertainment and as a transgression, but I am not sure, in the end, that the show is not part of the problem it diagnoses
August 15, 2017
Anderson is fantastic as an updated version of DI Jane Tennison, Helen Mirren's detective in Prime Suspect : in her head she's the boss but in reality she isn't.
December 17, 2013
The Fall's intention of revealing the dangerous connection between sex and death isn't only audacious, but also endlessly seductive.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 15, 2013
It's not as groundbreaking as Prime Suspect, but a reminder of just how addictive the procedural format can be when it's executed just right.
September 17, 2013
A fantastically creepy thriller shaped by the heroine's feminism and unapologetic sexuality. Anderson's delivery is sharp as her jaw in a series smarter and richer than most.
June 17, 2013
At times captivating, it was rarely less than atmospheric, intense, and dark. It was generally well-acted, and, refreshingly, there was a certain plausibility to the nature of and motives behind the killings.
June 10, 2013
Nobody does intelligent ice queen better than Anderson, and I'm assuming that awards makers are already preparing a "Jamie Dornan" stamp to save themselves time.
June 10, 2013
It's a fine show, relying on slow-building tension rather than the gory shock value of series like The Following.
June 5, 2013
It looks and feels like the right thing, the kale salad of crime shows. I ate it all up.
June 2, 2013
This is a work of great art that asks us a profound question in the treatment of murder-why are we watching; what do we want? My only uneasy answer is that I watched all five episodes in one sitting.
May 30, 2013
Arrested got all of the hype this week, but more deserving of praise and attention is The Fall, a riveting and tightly focused British miniseries.
May 28, 2013
Those looking for an atmospheric, brooding, slow-paced psychological study will find many rewards.
Full Review | Original Score: B