The Girlfriend Experience: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 14, 2018
This is a character study and the lead doesn't have to be beautifully flawed in order to get in over her head.
July 1, 2016
The pedigree of the talent runs deep, and pays off in its refusal to be what you expect.
April 14, 2016
Already, less than ten minutes into the first episode, the series seems to be an artistic as well as an epistemological disaster.
April 11, 2016
Finally, Steven Soderbergh's 2009 experiment in sexless eroticism gets the TV spin-off some weirdo somewhere possibly asked for! Confession: Je suis that weirdo.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 11, 2016
Before you know it, 30 minutes have passed in which nothing much has happened.
April 11, 2016
Into this minefield saunters Starz's fascinating The Girlfriend Experience, which is not merely in conversation with questions of the male gaze, female autonomy, titillation, sex, and violence but quite literally about them.
April 11, 2016
The Girlfriend Experience refuses to judge Christine, and thus defies you to judge its central thesis. It's an extremely cynical outlook -- the idea that every relationship... resembles a transaction. But on our most cynical days, doesn't that feel true.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 11, 2016
It is riveting -- and sexy -- to watch Christine watch the rest of the world.
April 11, 2016
In its own muted way, The Girlfriend Experience won me over. The show is a canny look at business and capitalism.
April 11, 2016
Keough's Christine is fascinatingly inscrutable, and the 26-year-old actress (Elvis's granddaughter, incidentally) carries the series with her chilly poise and enigmatic composure.
April 8, 2016
I love and respect it, I've already watched the whole first season and revisited individual episodes a second time, and the season finale three times. I think it's easily one of the best shows of the year, and a major work by everyone involved.
April 8, 2016
If you go to The Girlfriend Experience for a sexy turn-on, you'll be turned off, but you will be thrilled by what is a masterpiece of austere observation about this, our contemporary corporate world.
April 7, 2016
Among the many pleasures of "The Girlfriend Experience," chief is its concerted, gripping refusal to define its fascinating central character. As a result, this Starz series is quietly absorbing, even revelatory.
April 7, 2016
I'm always drawn to shows that have a unique structure and rhythm, and the pace of The Girlfriend Experience is one of its most daring aspects.
April 7, 2016
As Chelsea plies her johns with a facsimile of the devotion and tenderness they might be missing at home... her power - and our pleasure - lies as much in her intellectualism and transactional savvy as it does in sexual acrobatics.
April 6, 2016
It's more than on-screen sex that makes this TV's most adult show.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 5, 2016
If you're willing to bridge the distance the filmmakers impose, the show exerts an icy fascination.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 4, 2016
The Girlfriend Experience is one of the best new series of the young year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 31, 2016
Keough's outstanding performance makes the whole thing work, make no mistake. But Kerrigan, Seimetz and Meizler weave a visually evocative backdrop.
March 31, 2016
There's something almost hypnotic about Keogh's performance, augmented by the periodic fits and starts of the narrative.
Page 1 of 2