The Goop Lab with Gwyneth Paltrow: Season 1 Reviews

February 12, 2020
Even if you're doubtful of Goop, the Netflix series is enticing because you'll want to know how off the rails it runs. Spoiler: by the final two episodes, those rails are a distant memory.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 1, 2020
... when "The Goop Lab" winks at its own absurdity viewers are in more danger of being entertained, even moved.
January 27, 2020
The show isn't cynical, funny or self-knowing enough for my taste.
January 24, 2020
For those of us who realize that adrenal fatigue isn't a medical diagnosis and appreciate crystals solely for their beauty, it's hard to get too far into any episode of The Goop Lab...
January 24, 2020
There's not all that much of Paltrow in the series' six episodes. No, the focus of The Goop Lab is Paltrow's staff, and the show is all the better for it.
January 24, 2020
The show is entertaining and engaging and thought-provoking.
January 24, 2020
At the end of each episode, all I wanted was to be rich enough to try these wackadoodle things.
January 24, 2020
It is the cult of the individual taken to its logical conclusion. It is the zenith and nadir of late western capitalism.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 24, 2020
There are few surprises in The Goop Lab: The show is as silly and grating as expected, and Paltrow doubles down on the polarizing persona she's cultivated for the last decade and a half as Hollywood's most famous woo-woo peddler.
January 23, 2020
It's a crashing bore. And with its stylish but unreadable fonts and the show's next-level self-absorption, ultimately unwatchable.
January 22, 2020
Personally, I think it's one of the creepiest things I've ever seen on television.
January 21, 2020
To a far greater extent than I imagined, The Goop Lab actually makes it possible to be slightly less cynical about Goop. Life, man. It can still surprise you.
January 21, 2020
To watch The Goop Lab as a series, with its arcing assumptions about the limitations of medical science, is also to wonder where to locate the line between open-mindedness and gullibility.
January 17, 2020
Paltrow is a compelling host on what is a carefully structured, elegantly built, compulsively watchable show about, mainly, complete nonsense.
January 17, 2020
It's almost impressive how aggressively obnoxious the first episode is.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 17, 2020
One big problem with most of Goop Lab, though: It's boring. The camera cuts to someone sensitively nodding often enough to suggest an Eric Andre-ish running joke.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 17, 2020
At one point I was watching six beautiful, slim people with perfect bikini waxes (and the swimsuits to show them off) doing yoga in the snow, and wondering what the hell I'm doing with my life.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 17, 2020
I embarked on this series anticipating fist-biting hilarity, but quickly settled down into a kind of baffled and half-admiring stupor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5