The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 13, 2018
The constant to-and-fro of hope and despair, the sheer defiance in the era of #MeToo, and the ever-enthralling talent of Elisabeth Moss make The Handmaid's Tale one of the most gripping TV shows to date.
July 12, 2018
For all of its flaws, The Handmaid's Tale knows what it wants to say. And its message resonates now more than ever.
July 3, 2018
With only two episodes left this season it might be too far in to stop, but it's worth discussing what the intent is of making The Handmaid's Tale such a hard watch. What are we learning here that can affect the real world?
June 26, 2018
If there was ever any doubt that expanding this heartbreakingly relevant narrative was a mistake, the first 10 minutes of the Season 2 opener put those fears to rest real quick.
June 24, 2018
Simply perfect TV.
June 11, 2018
The first 15 minutes of The Handmaid's Tale, Season 2 -- the first episode to deviate completely from Margaret Atwood's 1985 dystopian novel -- is equal parts gripping and stomach turning.
May 30, 2018
The colors on the show's palette now include alternating resignation, rage, supplication and subversion; Elisabeth Moss continues to excel, but glimpses of the world beyond her have grown yet more intriguing.
May 29, 2018
Moss's stare is one of the most powerful things in television.
May 29, 2018
By heavens, Handmaid's is harrowing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 29, 2018
Hulu released two episodes to start, and will introduce a new one each week through mid-July. All I can say is, thank goodness! As much as I admire the series, it is terribly difficult to watch. In fact, the second season seems even darker than the first.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 24, 2018
There's just so much here that doesn't make sense to me. I was willing to turn a blind eye (hello Janine) to much of it but after that ending, I'm sorry. My suspension of disbelief is officially suspended.
May 21, 2018
Grim stuff, but compelling - oh, my, it was compelling. And terrifying because it doesn't seem impossible that this stuff could happen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 21, 2018
Sometimes the show's litany of sadism begins to look dangerously like torture-porn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 21, 2018
Elisabeth Moss can say more with her eyes and her face than most actors can with 1,000 words.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 18, 2018
Narratively, we are beyond Margaret Atwood. The author is still involved, but the story has fresh energy, and maybe even a sense of freedom, now that it doesn't have to worry about being faithful to a text.
May 14, 2018
Indeed, while it is brilliantly directed and acted, especially by Elisabeth Moss in the central role, I've a feeling that it's going to prove too much for some viewers, myself included.
May 11, 2018
The creeping dread, tension and moments of sheer terror that defined Season 1 remain but now swell under the new stories, flashbacks revealing where the hardening, slipping of society began.
May 11, 2018
The Handmaid's Tale is nobody's idea of a chill watch, but the series' vision of a dystopian, fundamentalist society run by vicious theocrats continues to captivate.
May 10, 2018
The first two episodes made available for review were a confident return, a vengeful approach that offers no reprieve from the stark intensity of its cocoon.
May 10, 2018
One of the bigger flaws from last season is we didn't get an indication of how Gilead was able to take over the government so quickly, and it's something they're definitely working on this season.
Page 1 of 4