The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
July 3, 2018
With only two episodes left this season it might be too far in to stop, but it's worth discussing what the intent is of making The Handmaid's Tale such a hard watch. What are we learning here that can affect the real world?
May 24, 2018
There's just so much here that doesn't make sense to me. I was willing to turn a blind eye (hello Janine) to much of it but after that ending, I'm sorry. My suspension of disbelief is officially suspended.
August 19, 2018
Season two was bloated, yet at the same time, empty.
May 14, 2018
Indeed, while it is brilliantly directed and acted, especially by Elisabeth Moss in the central role, I've a feeling that it's going to prove too much for some viewers, myself included.
April 25, 2018
Rather than hitting notes of triumph that inevitably ring false, these latest chapters lean into the all-consuming anguish. It follows through on the logical implications of its premise-but also raises a critical question about its direction.
May 21, 2018
Sometimes the show's litany of sadism begins to look dangerously like torture-porn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 26, 2018
[Season 2] gave in to every one of the show's most tedious instincts, substituting slow stares and endless montage sequences for any actual development or new interiority.
October 10, 2018
Simply put, The Handmaid's Tale remains one of the most astonishing shows on television. There is no show bleaker, yet no show more captivating
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 27, 2018
All their stories deserve to be heard just like Offred's, and The Handmaid's Tale pushes that argument by holding up a mirror to society, one that's timeless and horrifying. It's not necessary TV, it's a wake-up call.
September 13, 2018
They have not missed a beat... They are not mincing words.
August 25, 2018
To watch good TV that entertains can be fun and rewarding, but to watch a series pulsating with real ideas combined with genuine artistry is truly enriching.
June 11, 2018
The first 15 minutes of The Handmaid's Tale, Season 2 -- the first episode to deviate completely from Margaret Atwood's 1985 dystopian novel -- is equal parts gripping and stomach turning.
June 5, 2018
Minutes into the second season and it looked like a case of be careful what you wish for...I have a feeling this new series is going to outdo the first for nightmares.
April 17, 2018
The Handmaid's Tale's second season is not just living up to its stellar first season, but it's also raising the bar once more for what contemporary drama can be.
May 29, 2018
Hulu released two episodes to start, and will introduce a new one each week through mid-July. All I can say is, thank goodness! As much as I admire the series, it is terribly difficult to watch. In fact, the second season seems even darker than the first.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
August 19, 2018
I'm well aware that this sort of obsessive plot-policing only kicks in for me when a show is really flying along.
May 21, 2018
Grim stuff, but compelling - oh, my, it was compelling. And terrifying because it doesn't seem impossible that this stuff could happen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2018
The Handmaid's Tale hasn't eased up on its harrowing bleakness, and having left Margaret Atwood's source text behind, it currently has the thrilling feeling of being off the map.
April 25, 2018
Even the moments you dare to hope for, well, hope in the bleak, blue-toned powder keg that is Gilead, it's impossible to shake the feeling one wrong move, one wrong breath, might incite catastrophic doom. It's both terrifying and riveting.
April 20, 2018
"More of the same" sounds like a pejorative description but, when it's applied to a series that won two Golden Globe awards and received universal acclaim for its first season, it is in fact the highest compliment.
Page 1 of 5