The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 3, 2018
With only two episodes left this season it might be too far in to stop, but it's worth discussing what the intent is of making The Handmaid's Tale such a hard watch. What are we learning here that can affect the real world?
May 24, 2018
There's just so much here that doesn't make sense to me. I was willing to turn a blind eye (hello Janine) to much of it but after that ending, I'm sorry. My suspension of disbelief is officially suspended.
May 14, 2018
Indeed, while it is brilliantly directed and acted, especially by Elisabeth Moss in the central role, I've a feeling that it's going to prove too much for some viewers, myself included.
April 25, 2018
Rather than hitting notes of triumph that inevitably ring false, these latest chapters lean into the all-consuming anguish. It follows through on the logical implications of its premise-but also raises a critical question about its direction.
May 21, 2018
Sometimes the show's litany of sadism begins to look dangerously like torture-porn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 26, 2018
[Season 2] gave in to every one of the show's most tedious instincts, substituting slow stares and endless montage sequences for any actual development or new interiority.
June 11, 2018
The first 15 minutes of The Handmaid's Tale, Season 2 -- the first episode to deviate completely from Margaret Atwood's 1985 dystopian novel -- is equal parts gripping and stomach turning.
April 17, 2018
The Handmaid's Tale's second season is not just living up to its stellar first season, but it's also raising the bar once more for what contemporary drama can be.
May 29, 2018
Hulu released two episodes to start, and will introduce a new one each week through mid-July. All I can say is, thank goodness! As much as I admire the series, it is terribly difficult to watch. In fact, the second season seems even darker than the first.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 21, 2018
Grim stuff, but compelling - oh, my, it was compelling. And terrifying because it doesn't seem impossible that this stuff could happen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2018
The Handmaid's Tale hasn't eased up on its harrowing bleakness, and having left Margaret Atwood's source text behind, it currently has the thrilling feeling of being off the map.
April 25, 2018
Even the moments you dare to hope for, well, hope in the bleak, blue-toned powder keg that is Gilead, it's impossible to shake the feeling one wrong move, one wrong breath, might incite catastrophic doom. It's both terrifying and riveting.
April 20, 2018
"More of the same" sounds like a pejorative description but, when it's applied to a series that won two Golden Globe awards and received universal acclaim for its first season, it is in fact the highest compliment.
April 16, 2018
These specific references are a bit jarring, but it doesn't mean this season isn't great-it very much is. It's just different, and it can't hurt going in with a separate set of expectations from the original season.
April 19, 2018
The Handmaid's Tale remains intellectually nourishing, easy to admire, and difficult to endure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 2, 2018
The Handmaid's Tale is a masterclass in blending dark humor with subtle world-building and complex relationships that turn toward horror on a dime.
May 9, 2018
"Other Women" unearths an unpleasant time in June's past, and also parades a new fresh hell before her eyes
May 10, 2018
One of the bigger flaws from last season is we didn't get an indication of how Gilead was able to take over the government so quickly, and it's something they're definitely working on this season.
April 16, 2018
It updates the commentary of its source material to our 2018 context, which only raises the show's sense of immediate urgency as well as its penchant for instilling existential dread.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 16, 2018
Showcasing fantastic performances, a challenging narrative and visually arresting imagery, The Handmaid's Tale Season 2 continues to be essential viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Page 1 of 4