The Handmaid's Tale: Season 2 Reviews

May 7, 2019
This was, in my view, the perfect conclusion to a middle-brow stinker...
March 10, 2019
Once again, The Handmaid's Tale ignores the realities of racial history to tell a colourblind story of struggle that erases the contributions of black and brown women.
March 2, 2019
If The Handmaid's Tale has any story to tell us about current conditions at all, it is this: progressive white women from good homes were waiting for a show that depicted their class as resilient, traumatised sex slaves.
January 21, 2019
[It] feels almost hollow, a somewhat soulless recreation of aspects of the first season that places emphasis on a visceral shock value rather than anything else
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 20, 2018
It was mostly an excruciating slog, opening with too many gratuitous scenes of violence against women and culminating in an absurd finale.
December 7, 2018
Handmaid's is caught in a hellish cycle of its own making: grief, hope, more grief, repeat.
August 20, 2018
Season two was bloated, yet at the same time, empty.
July 3, 2018
With only two episodes left this season it might be too far in to stop, but it's worth discussing what the intent is of making The Handmaid's Tale such a hard watch. What are we learning here that can affect the real world?
May 25, 2018
There's just so much here that doesn't make sense to me. I was willing to turn a blind eye (hello Janine) to much of it but after that ending, I'm sorry. My suspension of disbelief is officially suspended.
May 21, 2018
Sometimes the show's litany of sadism begins to look dangerously like torture-porn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 15, 2018
Indeed, while it is brilliantly directed and acted, especially by Elisabeth Moss in the central role, I've a feeling that it's going to prove too much for some viewers, myself included.
April 26, 2018
[Season 2] gave in to every one of the show's most tedious instincts, substituting slow stares and endless montage sequences for any actual development or new interiority.
April 25, 2018
Rather than hitting notes of triumph that inevitably ring false, these latest chapters lean into the all-consuming anguish. It follows through on the logical implications of its premise-but also raises a critical question about its direction.