The Haunting of Hill House: The Haunting of Hill House Reviews

Page 2 of 5
November 1, 2018
Even though it's not always easy, I'm willing to let my adrenaline spike if it means I can experience a story that captures my attention and doesn't let go for even one second. And that's exactly what Netflix's The Haunting of Hill House did.
October 31, 2018
It's the pain, the loneliness, the desperation that grips their strained faces, pools in their eyes, and reaches across the screen to make you turn back on the lights. Now that, that feels real.
October 26, 2018
The horrors only grow, the jump scares keeping pace with an ever accelerating plot. And in its crescendo we are made to confront those things we would prefer to remain only objective observers to.
October 26, 2018
With its exceptional melding of family drama and expertly-executed genre thrills, The Haunting of Hill House shouldn't be missed whether you're a card-carrying genre fan or not.
October 26, 2018
Every performance contributes to the family dynamic and helps to build anxiety throughout the series.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 26, 2018
What is perhaps most beautiful about The Haunting of Hill House is the way it both subverts the haunted house genre and then wholly genuflects to its cliches.
October 24, 2018
As a tale of what happens when the ties that bind are the same ones that gag you, and scar you, and occasionally strangle you to death, it's absolutely terrifying.
October 24, 2018
Over 10 episodes, it's stylish, moving, and sinister, riddled with ghosts both literal and metaphorical.
October 24, 2018
Although the series starts slowly, it eventually develops into a riveting story, revealing a few horrifying secrets along the way and finishing on a surprisingly emotional note.
October 24, 2018
A perfectly matched narrative, emotional and technical puzzle. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 23, 2018
The show wisely does not decide to try and answer all the mysteries it presents to the audience. Sometimes there are no easy answers, in life and in television.
Top Critic
October 22, 2018
It isn't the words that stick with you... It's the sight of the Bent-Neck Lady...
October 22, 2018
Like this year's best horror film Hereditary, the chilling new Netflix series does an excellent job of wringing as much handwringing spooky boo-boo out of everyday events as it possibly can.
October 21, 2018
What before ended on a note of sinister unease now leaves us with hope. And I guess we can be fine with that. There is no such thing as too much hope.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 19, 2018
Fantastic, all around. The scares were there, subtle, and this show freaked me out. So good, and so well acted.
October 19, 2018
Stream it for sure. Like with any horror movie, there's a lot of build up in the first couple of episodes, but when The Haunting of Hill House gets rolling it doesn't stop.
October 19, 2018
Mike Flanagan's Netflix adaptation of Jackson's work makes a family-the Crains-and their twisted collective history the narrative thread. But he manages to keep the focus on engaging female characters while building out a new world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 19, 2018
It' ll reward your attention and patience with moments that will leave you breathless, on the edge of the seat, and turning on the lights throughout the house to sleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2018
What I'm most curious to discover is how Flanagan, who also wrote the show, plans to update the themes of the original to mirror contemporary American anxieties.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2018
Between effective jump-scares, a cast led by the great TV actors Michiel Huisman and Elizabeth Reaser breathes life into an allegory for collective mourning.
Page 2 of 5