The Leftovers: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 28, 2018
"The Leftovers" recognizes that catharsis often comes with a side helping of comedy - or, if not comedy, a wry realization that life is often painful, strange and ridiculous all at once.
November 28, 2018
With its mystery that will never be solved, "The Leftovers" occasionally has a quality of repetition compulsion, as if Lindelof were working out old traumas in fresh forms...But, if so, it's a therapeutic project that lends the show a certain wildness.
October 19, 2018
There's such authoritativeness in the storytelling here that even settings and characters that have just been introduced feel fully realized, recognizable, and worthy of our investment.
October 10, 2018
If the show continues to delve into these characters, get ready for an emotional roller coaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 18, 2018
For now, we can take a break from the violence and melancholia of Season 1 and start to understand the trauma within the world of The Leftovers through a more multifaceted spectrum of emotions.
June 12, 2018
Series two of The Leftovers is, arguably, one of the best series of television ever made.
September 12, 2017
... The Leftovers is proving to be one of the most compelling dramas on TV right now.
December 14, 2016
The Leftovers is a dark and sombre show but ultimately rewarding with its intricate character work and rich and provocative writing.
June 21, 2016
We suspect that this will be a show that becomes more popular in retrospect than it is currently, but in the meantime we'll savour the fact that it still exists.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 8, 2016
Season two of The Leftovers comes with the same shortcomings that had made the previous season just shy of being recommendable, including episodes that are purely filler and a reluctance to focus on the show's important story elements.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 6, 2015
The Leftovers launched its second season Sunday with a new setting, an overhauled ensemble and a fresh Departure-related mystery.
November 6, 2015
Leftovers fans are in for a wild ride.
October 6, 2015
An intriguing hour then, and one that justified the risks it took in getting there. Just about.
October 6, 2015
In broadening the show's world and introducing new characters with new outlooks, the show's innovative premise stands to be built out in an even more creative and compelling way.
October 5, 2015
The Leftovers remains one of the more brutal viewing experiences of cable.
October 5, 2015
Strikingly well acted, quietly eerie, emotionally convincing, season two begins with a great, if potentially brutal, sense of possibility.
October 5, 2015
For as much as I'm willing to admit that the show is made with real skill and great care, I'm still often struck with the thought that I hate it and, like Kevin Garvey, I kind of want to punch it in its smug, credulous face.
October 5, 2015
This season, it's less about loss itself than how to fill the chasm. It's breathtaking.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 5, 2015
Though it's sobering to watch, it's also very moving and beautifully acted. The Leftovers should not be left behind.
October 4, 2015
Amid all the shakeups, The Leftovers' standalone technique remains second to none.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 2