The Magicians: Season 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Magicians: Season 4 Reviews

February 25, 2019
There are, to put it mildly, a lot of moving pieces. Season 4's premiere episode... does an excellent job addressing each in turn while giving fans much-missed time with the characters they love.
February 25, 2019
The Season 4 premiere reminded me just how weird and wonderful this series is.
February 25, 2019
Season 4 of The Magicians is starting strong, and I can't wait to start this rollercoaster of a journey.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 24, 2019
The first episode of The Magicians sets up for an exhilarating season, and it's going to be a wild ride as the glamors come off, their memories come back, and they ultimately restore magic -- again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.2/5
January 30, 2019
Feels like Jade Tailor is doing a dope homage to Detective Rosa (Stephanie Beatriz) from Brooklyn 99.
February 25, 2019
The Magicians has accomplished something big. At last, it has turned 74 years of subtext into text.
January 24, 2019
This is a show in which inexplicably good-looking people run around trying to kill demons and party with gods, but never at the expense of some Serious Storytelling.
February 25, 2019
The Magicians has been on a hot streak since it returned for its fourth season; however, tonight's episode completely bowled me over.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 25, 2019
It's a bold, different take that's romantic, heartfelt and in the context of this show makes absolute sense. Peaches and plums, motherf---ers. Peaches and plums.
February 28, 2019
If anything, I wish these new identities were established a little more, but I appreciate this wasn't resolved in this first episode. A monster's on the loose, and the knowledge these magicians could use to save themselves are locked away.
January 24, 2019
This fresh take on the characters we love with their new identities is like re-discovering The Magicians all over again. Every moment and every subplot was a pure joy!
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 24, 2019
The narrative plays with time and space and realities, and its endless convolutions curlicue like grotesque fingernail tendrils twisting into one another as they reach the ground. I'm enthralled just the same.
February 25, 2019
Coming off the show's best and most substantial season yet, The Magicians Season 4 reboots its characters in exciting ways without losing any of the charm and anarchy that makes the show so delightful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 24, 2019
Ultimately, you'll get out of The Magicians what you invest into it. The deeper you commit, the richer the experience, but it's never going to make you feel bad for enjoying it on a more shallow level.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 30, 2019
It's all a solid enough blend of tongue-in-cheek humor and forward motion to prove that, four seasons in, the writers have a firm grasp on their wandering plot and slowly evolving characters.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 24, 2019
I watched the first three episodes of season four provided to critics much too quickly, and I cannot wait for the rest.
January 24, 2019
There has never been safety, or familiarity, or comfort in The Magicians, and that's not changing in season four, either.
January 24, 2019
We're only an episode on and already season four is delivering on it's name's promise to bring us something delectably magical.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 24, 2019
At any rate, this is an exciting start - and new beginning of sorts - of a fascinatingly dark chapter in the series.
January 24, 2019
Despite all of this grimness, "The Magicians" is still the funniest fantasy show on TV because it's incredibly self-aware.
Full Review | Original Score: B+