The Man in the High Castle: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 3
November 20, 2015
Amazon has the best new drama of the season in The Man in the High Castle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 20, 2015
If the characters need work, the world they inhabit is fully formed from the opening frames. Director David Semel and production designer Drew Boughton have built a detail-oriented alternate 1962 from the ground up.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 20, 2015
As someone who tends to resist the urge to binge-watch... I still found myself becoming thoroughly engrossed in this nightmare world.
November 19, 2015
The Man in the High Castle could be a productive enigma, but only if it can make the characters we do meet as compelling as the one we haven't.
November 19, 2015
The Man in the High Castle looks at a bigger systemic problem of war and occupation and paints evil with a broader brush that's just as applicable to today. Learn your lessons, people. History, even made-up history, can repeat itself.
November 19, 2015
There is not much hope in this serious, ambitious drama, but there are moments of real connection that make one believe that individuals - and even images - can make a difference.
November 19, 2015
Give in to the premise, and The Man in the High Castle will give you chills.
November 18, 2015
It's all done so matter-of-factly that it's hard to look away, even though that's what you'll sometimes want to do. It's haunting to watch, but you'll continue to do so all the same.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 18, 2015
With The Man in the High Castle, Amazon proves they can play with the competition provided by Netflix on a nearly weekly basis. It's smart, driven, stylish and creative.
November 18, 2015
The Man in the High Castle has no trouble building and maintaining tension. Honestly, it gave me nightmares.
Top Critic
November 18, 2015
Intriguing . . . but somber and slowww-moving.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 18, 2015
The best new show of the fall season (and there is no close second) is not on a broadcast network... The honor belongs to... Amazon and its luminous series version of The Man in the High Castle.
November 17, 2015
It's a bold, intriguing, visually-impressive effort.
November 16, 2015
There's real promise in this landscape of a world ripped in two by an authoritarian nightmare of a society, especially when the allegories to our own reality are given space, rather than hammering home how unlike our world this one can be.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 26, 2015
The best new drama of this 2015 crop, and a show well worth supporting.
October 26, 2015
With brooding British actor Rufus Sewell leading a strong cast, this history-twisting dystopian fantasy is must-see streaming TV.
October 26, 2015
The first episode of this new Amazon Prime Instant Video series is slow-paced, but intriguing enough to make me want more.
September 25, 2015
There are a few flaws in the six episodes Amazon made available for review, but none of them undermines the depth and power of Dick's premise.
September 24, 2015
The plot isn't even the best part. It's the evocative paranoid world that creator/executive producer Frank Spotnitz has built.
September 21, 2015
If you were looking for a reason to sign up for Amazon Prime, this is it.
Page 2 of 3