The Man in the High Castle: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 31, 2019
Ghostly, unsettling viewing for our times.
December 10, 2015
Now that this complicated and terrifying new world has been laid at our feet, I'll be sticking around to see what happens next.
December 8, 2015
Simply put, it's plodding, moves at a glacial pace and overreaches with too many diffuse narrative strands.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 23, 2015
I giggled out loud like a toddler, clapping my meaty baby hands together in appreciation for what's to come.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 20, 2015
Not only should you watch it, you should binge it... let yourself get immersed in this world and see where it takes you.
November 20, 2015
Spotnitz takes liberties with both plot and character, but without sacrificing theme or, more important, dramatic impact.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 20, 2015
It's that originality, building off the arresting premise, that stands out most of all.
November 20, 2015
A compulsively compelling series that grows richer and more emotionally nuanced as it gains momentum, "The Man in the High Castle" milks its provocative what-if premise for plenty of smart suspense and subtle shading.
November 20, 2015
Amazon has the best new drama of the season in The Man in the High Castle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 20, 2015
If the characters need work, the world they inhabit is fully formed from the opening frames. Director David Semel and production designer Drew Boughton have built a detail-oriented alternate 1962 from the ground up.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 19, 2015
The Man in the High Castle could be a productive enigma, but only if it can make the characters we do meet as compelling as the one we haven't.
November 19, 2015
There is not much hope in this serious, ambitious drama, but there are moments of real connection that make one believe that individuals - and even images - can make a difference.
November 19, 2015
Give in to the premise, and The Man in the High Castle will give you chills.
November 18, 2015
With The Man in the High Castle, Amazon proves they can play with the competition provided by Netflix on a nearly weekly basis. It's smart, driven, stylish and creative.
Top Critic
November 18, 2015
Intriguing . . . but somber and slowww-moving.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 17, 2015
It's a bold, intriguing, visually-impressive effort.
November 16, 2015
There's real promise in this landscape of a world ripped in two by an authoritarian nightmare of a society, especially when the allegories to our own reality are given space, rather than hammering home how unlike our world this one can be.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 26, 2015
The best new drama of this 2015 crop, and a show well worth supporting.
October 26, 2015
With brooding British actor Rufus Sewell leading a strong cast, this history-twisting dystopian fantasy is must-see streaming TV.
September 25, 2015
There are a few flaws in the six episodes Amazon made available for review, but none of them undermines the depth and power of Dick's premise.
Page 1 of 2