The Mist: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 18, 2020
The Mist has provided solid entertainment, concisely defined characters and intriguing situations from which a second run is more or less guaranteed.
January 18, 2020
The Mist is one of the most disappointing series of the summer. I had great hopes for this adaptation of the classic King story, but unfortunately, it didn't meet any of my expectations.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 18, 2020
Spike's new series based on "The Mist" (which was made into a Frank Darabont film in 2007, with a controversial altered ending) wasn't written by King, but it does the author proud.
January 18, 2020
It is a well-made, if somewhat dour, creep show that delivers the shocks and awfulness you would be watching for in the first place and manages some decent dialogue in between.
Top Critic
January 18, 2020
Not nearly enough horror, way too much exposition (in the opener). Even the fog seems a little bored hanging around for something to happen.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 18, 2020
Like King's last TV series, "Under the Dome," "The Mist" would seem to have a short shelf life. One hour with these people and you'll be rooting for the critters.
January 18, 2020
Overall, the first episode of the Spike series does a fine job setting up its central characters.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 12, 2017
The Mist scatters a growing number of flat, unsympathetic characters across various locations and fails to manage the swath of social issues it attempts to tackle.
August 28, 2017
The meaningful part of The Mist comes from the ways people falsely perceive each other, and hurt themselves in the process.
August 9, 2017
The Mist is a beautiful blend of drama and horror that delivers on its immediate promise.
June 29, 2017
It's a shame the potential of King's classic story is squandered on an uninspired script and bland performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 28, 2017
This Spike TV show takes just as much interest in the reactions of seemingly sane folk to imminent danger as the nature of that danger itself, pairing the chills of horror with a considered psychological component.
June 27, 2017
Some character depth would help maintain interest for 10 episodes around a scary fog, but from the town's cops to the high school jocks, it all feels like a mediocre horror movie. That's a hard sell for 10 weeks.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
June 27, 2017
I'm intrigued. And there are only 10 episodes (unless there's a second season), so it might be worth the time investment.
June 26, 2017
So far, the good definitely outweighs the bad, in my book.
June 23, 2017
The series... plays around with elements familiar to members of King's devoted fan base, as well as those from Frank Darabont's intense and somber 2007 feature film of the same name, but with less successful results.
June 23, 2017
When the violence comes, it arrives from the blue without warning.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 23, 2017
The Mist could be a satisfyingly complex chiller, scaring viewers not just with unexpected jumps and amped-up creepy crawlies, but with the more human monsters who are all trapped together inside, waiting out the weather.
June 23, 2017
Whether the series will surprise me with deeper meaning or retain its high-octane schlock value, I'm up for either.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 23, 2017
There's something in the mist. And we're off!
Page 1 of 3