The Morning Show: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 27, 2020
Sure, its stars filled cast may somehow lower the importance of its premise, but The Morning Show is no less than an noteworthy affirmation. [Full review In Spanish].
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 29, 2020
The high-stakes drama is dialled up to 11 in almost every scene as it draws on all the attendant controversies of the #metoo/Weinstein/Kavanaugh scandals. Top notch stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 23, 2019
I don't really know if The Morning Show knows that it's high camp. I not sure that it matters. Is it doing it on purpose? Maybe, but the result is the same.
December 11, 2019
Directed by Mimi Leder, the opening episode takes full advantage of streaming liberties (yup, there's swearing) and tackles the #MeToo discussion better than the morning shows did.
November 27, 2019
Even when its execution is sometimes wobbly, you never mistake its ambition. It's pacy, brash and compulsive - which all adds up to something worth sticking around for.
November 27, 2019
The series hasn't necessarily gotten better, but after six episodes it's gotten wilder, contradictory, and intriguing -- the unstinting budget is a constant, but the tone fluctuates and the surprises, for better or worse, are extremely watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 27, 2019
Aside from its flaws, The Morning Show is compulsively watchable.
November 25, 2019
The Morning Show is high-voltage drama and big-time entertainment, a savage, scorching portrait of the TV news industry as a modern court of the Medicis where corporate genocide is coffee-break sport.
Top Critic
November 23, 2019
"The Morning Show" is stylish and fast-paced, the biggest project among nine original programs kicking off the new Apple TV+ service.
November 15, 2019
Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon, playing two women whose lives intersect after a catastrophic scandal, are brilliantly cast and take strong but imperfect material and lend it a little old Hollywood gravitas.
November 15, 2019
It's not great, but oh, God, is it interesting.
November 14, 2019
The Morning Show undertakes the complex task of alluding to the #MeToo movement, and does this by drawing an unavoidable parallelism with Matt Lauer. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 12, 2019
It's not groundbreaking, by any stretch, but I'm hooked with its "tune in next week" cliff-hangers and desire to address the #MeToo polemic.
November 7, 2019
We'll have to see if "The Morning Show" completely clicks, but even with an uneven first three episodes, Aniston is terrific as the veteran TV broadcaster who is, to borrow a phrase, mad as hell and not going to take it anymore.
November 7, 2019
I don't think The Morning Show will reveal anything about network news or the challenges for women in the workplace that I don't already know, but, just like a cooking segment, it has sucked me in.
November 7, 2019
As we'd expect, Aniston and Witherspoon are electric in their scenes together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 7, 2019
As a mix of melodrama and well-written interactions that feel genuinely human, "The Morning Show" is fairly entrancing.
November 7, 2019
That's The Morning Show. They're the Gin Blossoms of television shows. It's not particularly original, the writing is thin, but it's polished, it hits all the right emotional beats, and it's very watchable.
November 6, 2019
Like the pants Alex wears and Bradley also favors for most of the show, the fact that the two protagonists have gender-neutral names is no coincidence. It's just one more rich detail in a show that demands analysis and critical thinking from viewers.
November 5, 2019
I liked it. Just didn't love it. Both stars, along with Steve Carrell and Billy Crudup, excel, direction by Mimi Leder is exemplary, and it whizzes at a fair pace and explores current issues.
Page 1 of 4