The Morning Show: Season 1 Reviews

December 23, 2019
It has no consistency, no singular ambition or particular thing to say.
December 19, 2019
Glossy and expensive, the series is a giant, faultlessly tasteful gift box filled mostly with packing peanuts.
November 27, 2019
Even when its execution is sometimes wobbly, you never mistake its ambition. It's pacy, brash and compulsive - which all adds up to something worth sticking around for.
November 27, 2019
The series hasn't necessarily gotten better, but after six episodes it's gotten wilder, contradictory, and intriguing -- the unstinting budget is a constant, but the tone fluctuates and the surprises, for better or worse, are extremely watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 25, 2019
It doesn't have the guts to go all the way.
November 23, 2019
"The Morning Show" is stylish and fast-paced, the biggest project among nine original programs kicking off the new Apple TV+ service.
November 22, 2019
Sadly, by its finale, The Morning Show is less addictive train wreck than glum clunker, symptomatic of peak TV: it's yet another lacquered, poorly structured ten-episode story, whose sparks are dampened as it becomes more earnest.
November 15, 2019
Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon, playing two women whose lives intersect after a catastrophic scandal, are brilliantly cast and take strong but imperfect material and lend it a little old Hollywood gravitas.
November 15, 2019
It's not great, but oh, God, is it interesting.
November 7, 2019
I don't think The Morning Show will reveal anything about network news or the challenges for women in the workplace that I don't already know, but, just like a cooking segment, it has sucked me in.
November 7, 2019
As we'd expect, Aniston and Witherspoon are electric in their scenes together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 7, 2019
As a mix of melodrama and well-written interactions that feel genuinely human, "The Morning Show" is fairly entrancing.
November 3, 2019
It's a throwback in all the wrong ways.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 2, 2019
The Morning Show does not enable the sort of performances that can serve as such transparent vehicles' silver lining.
November 1, 2019
It's honestly pretty fun to watch, all glossy and zippy. But it's also fundamentally at war with itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 1, 2019
The Morning Show dares to execute a very difficult balancing act, with women in off-camera command instead of assuming the positions assigned to them -- by men. The result so far is more than fair, but with continued storytelling perils ahead.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 1, 2019
After a while I found myself wondering whether everybody involved in this project was simply too rich and powerful to comprehend how hard the average viewer may find it to sympathise.
November 1, 2019
The show's ideological wobbliness persists through its first three episodes.
November 1, 2019
There is a twist at the end of each episode and, well, that's certainly entertaining.
November 1, 2019
I have to hand it to Aniston and her co-star, Reese Witherspoon, for wangling a show about journalism that is so without true emotion or real meaning that it isn't interesting to me even on some basic or pheromonal level as a journalist myself.