The OA: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 9, 2019
The OA showcases minority voices that are largely ignored in American media.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 17, 2019
Though the show was slow going at first, its interesting narrative and beautiful visual tidbits kept me coming back for more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 17, 2019
The show seems oblivious to how daft it all looks, perhaps dazzled by its own profundity as it alludes to various half-baked pseudo-philosophical and mystical ideas.
May 17, 2019
[Brit] Marling and [Zal] Batmanglij have created an intriguing universe, populated with sympathetic and real characters. Ultimately rewarding, The OA makes you feel proud to be TV viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 16, 2019
There are those things we can't put down or can't not binge through, and there are those things we want to savor for as long as we can. The OA is the latter for me.
May 16, 2019
Personally, I can't remember the last time that I liked something that I should've hated so much.
May 16, 2019
The OA is an unnervingly realistic yet still fantastical exploration of mortality, of art, of the truth, of of reality, of survival, and most of all, of hope.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
May 16, 2019
At times it can feel like a term paper written by two honor students trying to cram in all of their esoteric research but the sense of possibility and ambition is infectious.
March 29, 2019
I quite like it. The first series was like nothing else.
March 22, 2019
Bonkers with a vengeance, it duly sent many unsuspecting Netflix subscribers pogoing for cover. But those who reconciled themselves to the riptides of wackiness were pleasantly swept off their feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 21, 2018
However, if you're able to set aside your inevitable moments of second-hand embarrassment and embrace the insanity of this series, there's a good chance you'll enjoy it. It's a hard ask, but one that can be rewarding.
May 22, 2018
The season takes you through [Prairie's] mysterious past and mystical adventures as she tries to go back and save others who are missing as well.
March 28, 2018
Absorbing, despite its flaws.
November 7, 2017
There's an undeniable confidence to The OA.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 25, 2017
It's a sci-fi infused series that will definitely quench your thirst if you're really missing Stranger Things, there's even a bald girl.
September 12, 2017
While clear answers are not on the menu here, viewers are treated to excellent performances by Marling and a cast of young newcomers, visually astounding scenes of interstellar dimensions and a story that begs for fan theories...
August 22, 2017
The question of Prairie's reliability as a narrator always hangs in the air, but you root for her to be right and for her group of oddfellows, three teenage boys and a middle-aged teacher, to win.
August 15, 2017
By juxtaposing Greek thought with a captivity story featuring a pretty blonde woman, The OA achieves a very strange and compelling textural effect.
May 18, 2017
The OA is a delicate puzzle, ripe with intrigue and yet thick with moralism, which takes gleeful pride in leaving you full of a bizarre mixture of skepticism and wonder.
April 25, 2017
Though it occasionally loses its grip on its lofty material, and skids a little in its narrative chicanes, The OA is quite something to behold: a strange and strangely beautiful thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3