The OA: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 16, 2019
It feels like the sort of show that would be a background joke in an episode of BoJack Horseman and/or something Jack Donaghy would pitch on 30 Rock.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 29, 2019
I quite like it. The first series was like nothing else.
March 22, 2019
Bonkers with a vengeance, it duly sent many unsuspecting Netflix subscribers pogoing for cover. But those who reconciled themselves to the riptides of wackiness were pleasantly swept off their feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 28, 2018
Absorbing, despite its flaws.
November 7, 2017
There's an undeniable confidence to The OA.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 15, 2017
By juxtaposing Greek thought with a captivity story featuring a pretty blonde woman, The OA achieves a very strange and compelling textural effect.
August 11, 2017
One's first instinct is to ask why The OA saved its best material for the very end. One's second is to realize that this is a plot-driven mystery show on Netflix, so the question answers itself.
April 25, 2017
Though it occasionally loses its grip on its lofty material, and skids a little in its narrative chicanes, The OA is quite something to behold: a strange and strangely beautiful thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 6, 2017
The OA's dual-narrative structure, which sees a group of people returning night after night to sit in a cold house and listen to a story, similarly invokes the power of (and our need for) older forms of ritual, performative connection.
January 3, 2017
The show's melancholy atmosphere and central mystery of near-death experiences is tough to resist in the early going, particularly while TV awaits another slate of offerings.
December 29, 2016
It's often courageous in its demands upon our empathy, and the series always seems like it's just one revelation away from not just coherence but transcendence.
Top Critic
December 29, 2016
The OA's tale is a riveting celestial escape. For viewers too. Never mind that to consume it through Netflix is part of what these children are trying to escape in the first place.
December 22, 2016
It is a swing and a miss on a colossal level, but oh, what a swing.
Top Critic
December 21, 2016
The OA is in many ways a feminized version of Stranger Things - and that gender difference makes the Spielberg homage a fan's slick scrapbook and this ambiguity-laden tale an original, idiosyncratic vision with a distinct point of view.
December 20, 2016
I get the sense that Marling and Batmanglij think their show is way deeper than it actually is, and that's what ultimately damns it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 19, 2016
What a shame, that something with such strong, shimmery elements and such a distinctive sensibility should net out, like so many less worthy, less ambitious, less eccentric and less inventive shows, at "in between.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
December 19, 2016
Certainly it's a thing of gargantuan imagination and ambition, both seductive and infuriating. I was sucked in, almost reluctantly.
December 19, 2016
Oh, man. If we take The OA exactly 1000 times less seriously than The OA takes itself, we might have found the best show of 2016.
December 19, 2016
Netflix describes The OA as "a Russian nesting doll of a story." I'd call it a beautifully painted eggshell, and I can't recommend spending the seven-plus hours it takes to crack it and get to the hollow center.
December 19, 2016
What's most striking... is the richness of the story. It weaves in such a variety of textures and styles and allusions that it sometimes feels transparently absurd, but it's hard not to be drawn in given the wealth of different objects on offer.
Page 1 of 2