The Paul Reiser Show: Season 1 Reviews

April 14, 2011
Why would you like it? For one thing because it is not another show about couples and singles in their 20s and 30s lost in Relationship Land.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
April 14, 2011
Most of the material flatlines even before it begins, while never rising to the level of the HBO series to which it pays homage.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 14, 2011
The Paul Reiser Show has an odd air of desperation about it, with its star flailing about like a carp on a ramshackle wooden pier.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 14, 2011
I'm not saying the copycat comedy of The Paul Reiser Show isn't funny, but it doesn't compare favorably to the cracked originality of Community or 30 Rock.
April 14, 2011
Some of the humor is decent enough, but some also has the same feeling as Paul's life: We're here and there's nothing we can do about it, so we might as well tell jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 14, 2011
It's just about the worst career advice Reiser could get - g'head, make a cheap knockoff of my cable show [Curb Your Enthusiasm] on a network; it'll be great.
April 14, 2011
The series is better when it strays from Mr. David's [Larry] format, but mostly it follows it too closely.
April 14, 2011
"The Paul Reiser Show" ought to mirror those HBO series in one key respect: attracting about as many viewers. Alas, such ratings will likely leave Reiser making pancakes, again wondering what he should do next.
April 14, 2011
It's hard for me to relate to shows about aging, wealthy white men who don't know what to do with their days.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 14, 2011
The adventures aren't funny, and the friends aren't believable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4