The Politician: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 24, 2020
While the twists and turns will keep you tuning in to the next episode, the season begins to run out of steam after the elections are done.
Top Critic
November 23, 2019
The character at the heart of this story, self-centered and struggling with how his ambition is changing him, seems built for today's times.
October 22, 2019
The frantic attempts to get his vote are both depressingly realistic and comically rueful. Everything is seen from the voter's perspective and that's where The Politician, as a series, comes close to being a work of genius.
October 17, 2019
I am sure Murphy's dedicated fans will enjoy the show, but by the season finale you can already see the show is preparing to reinvent itself. Maybe that will make The Politician worth a second look.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 16, 2019
In some ways, the most interesting thing about The Politician is that nearly all the characters sense that they live in an a wholly ersatz world and don't care.
October 9, 2019
It's not a particularly good series, but there are a lot of great ideas and a few good characters swirling around in what is otherwise a muddled, try-hard mess.
October 7, 2019
Violence, murder, dark dealings in high school-set drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2019
Think of it as Glee meets House of Cards... But you might end up wanting less high school melodrama and more political machinations.
October 7, 2019
There are moments when the talented Ben Platt gives added complexity to a character that seemed to only embody big statements. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 4, 2019
It really feels like after Grey's Anatomy got the business of the premiere out of the way...quite the fresh start.
October 2, 2019
Season 1 of The Politician is hyperbolic, intense, young adult drama at its best. Ben Platt is just incredible in this role. I need more!
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 1, 2019
As you'd expect from a Murphy show, The Politician is witty, fast-moving, and addictive, with so many plot twists per episode that I truly pity the recappers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 1, 2019
I have no idea if I actually liked The Politician. Now it's days later, and I cannot stop thinking or talking about it. I'm consumed by it, and maybe even obsessed. Is that a testament to Ryan Murphy's genius or just my own insanity? I'll never know.
October 1, 2019
The show certainly stumbles its way through to the finale, but with a second season already in the offing and a fantastic set-up for the next run, we think The Politician could eventually win the race.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 30, 2019
Showrunner Ryan Murphy (Glee, Feud) has pulled off the neat trick of remorselessly bashing achingly PC millennial sensibilities while celebrating the warmth of the individuals involved.
September 30, 2019
A show like The Politician could only happen on Netflix, a streaming service whose motto might as well be, "Keep watching, it gets better." [Ryan] Murphy's brand and style fits that ethos incredibly well.
September 30, 2019
Tonally, it's scattered (dark comedy, musical, drama), but all in all, it's totally watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
September 30, 2019
Ryan Murphy, famous for playing with genres to no end, now delivers a series that traverses multiple lanes but never compromises. Even when it may be confusing, it is never less than bold.
September 28, 2019
If I had to describe it in one phrase, it would be "the prequel to a better series" but I still enjoyed it, mainly because of the work of its key players [full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 28, 2019
The Politician wants to be about the politics of today but it's actually about the politics of every moment in American history except today. And viewed through that latter lens, it's honestly sort of brilliant.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3