The Politician: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 5
October 2, 2019
The aesthetics can't distract from the emptiness of the show. Murphy's latest TV offering is not the political satire it wants to be, nor the political satire we need.
October 1, 2019
As you'd expect from a Murphy show, The Politician is witty, fast-moving, and addictive, with so many plot twists per episode that I truly pity the recappers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 1, 2019
Despite my disappointment in Season 1, I'm optimistic about what's to come in Season 2.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 1, 2019
I have no idea if I actually liked The Politician. Now it's days later, and I cannot stop thinking or talking about it. I'm consumed by it, and maybe even obsessed. Is that a testament to Ryan Murphy's genius or just my own insanity? I'll never know.
October 1, 2019
This series is a great big wall, dripping with ideas that have been flung at it without thought. It's a Rushmore-style satire framed in camp.
October 1, 2019
The show certainly stumbles its way through to the finale, but with a second season already in the offing and a fantastic set-up for the next run, we think The Politician could eventually win the race.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 30, 2019
The performances are hit and miss, with some of the lead actors going big and broad and playing to the rafters, as if they're on stage in a cavernous auditorium. That's a risky and in more than a few cases not entirely successful choice for the medium.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 30, 2019
Showrunner Ryan Murphy (Glee, Feud) has pulled off the neat trick of remorselessly bashing achingly PC millennial sensibilities while celebrating the warmth of the individuals involved.
September 30, 2019
A show like The Politician could only happen on Netflix, a streaming service whose motto might as well be, "Keep watching, it gets better." [Ryan] Murphy's brand and style fits that ethos incredibly well.
September 30, 2019
Tonally, it's scattered (dark comedy, musical, drama), but all in all, it's totally watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
September 30, 2019
There is so much story to tell, that [the show] doesn't delve deeply into any of them. [Full review in Spanish]
September 30, 2019
Ryan Murphy, famous for playing with genres to no end, now delivers a series that traverses multiple lanes but never compromises. Even when it may be confusing, it is never less than bold.
September 29, 2019
The show is as loose with tone and genre as it is with its running time ... which makes for some herky-jerky viewing.
September 28, 2019
If I had to describe it in one phrase, it would be "the prequel to a better series" but I still enjoyed it, mainly because of the work of its key players [full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 28, 2019
Gradually, The Politician shows itself to be as superficial and focused on ticking boxes as its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 28, 2019
It's a shame that's essentially drowned in the flood of constant lunacy. It's tonally all over the place. Respective elements of it are intriguing and occasionally fantastic.
September 28, 2019
The Politician wants to be about the politics of today but it's actually about the politics of every moment in American history except today. And viewed through that latter lens, it's honestly sort of brilliant.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 27, 2019
The Politician feels exciting and current and tight.
September 27, 2019
Where both Election and its source material took deadly aim, The Politician's great ambition far outweighs its clarity.
September 27, 2019
To put it in campaign terms, who or what is the show's demographic?
Page 2 of 5