The Politician: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 2
September 27, 2019
It's a daring show that reveals right from the start how wooden and obviously constructed its central character is.
September 27, 2019
Stream Feud or either American Crime Story or any of the other Murphy shows that work. The Politician isn't worth your time.
September 27, 2019
Despite the smart ideas, The Politician's episodes are overwhelming, ardently competing for our attention in a hectic ball pit of melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 27, 2019
A tonal free-for-all, with ludicrous plotting and cartoonish characters revolving around a chilly antihero it's hard to muster much empathy for, The Politician is a garish and lurid hot mess.
September 26, 2019
While opulence and extravagance have worked for Murphy before, The Politician prioritizes hitting every Murphy-TV-trope while giving none of them the proper amount of time to bloom into something worthwhile.
September 26, 2019
The bulk of the first season is exhaustingly repetitive, but the promise of season two makes me want to return to "The Politician" even as I feel as if I'm likely to get duped and wind up exhausted and disappointed by the show all over again.
September 26, 2019
It's a shiny but not especially bright bauble that falls short of a winning ticket.
September 26, 2019
Unlike its confident anti-hero, The Politician hasn't decided what it wants to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 26, 2019
So far, I can't figure out how I'm supposed to feel about anyone or anything, which makes it quite an achievement if this was the response they were going for. Although I'm honestly not sure it was.
September 25, 2019
Much like its hero's determination to win his high-school election, The Politician's presence on Netflix feels like the by-product of ambition and chutzpah rather than an urgent need to effect change or communicate meaningful ideas.
September 24, 2019
You just don't believe in Platt's character - not as a teenager, not as a politician, not as anything but an overwhelmed actor in a show that struggles to maintain its artistic discipline.
September 24, 2019
Most of the eight episode first season... vacillates between being the the grad school version of the final season of Glee or Wes Anderson for people who've never seen a Wes Anderson film.
September 23, 2019
It is mean, nonsensical, and utterly hollow. Moments when anyone onscreen emotionally resembles a person are rare.
September 23, 2019
What results is a shallow character study supported by equally flimsy ties to important-sounding ideas. Still, it's very watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 23, 2019
The Politician chooses an artificial, inauthentic way of expressing these ideas, of prioritizing the drama for the truth, and opting in for skating by with little else to offer but something superficially indulgent to lose yourself in for a while.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 23, 2019
It certainly feels like Murphy is trying to say something about the way we live now but it's unclear exactly what that is... [It] wishes it were Elizabeth Warren's presidential campaign, when actually it's just Marianne Williamson's.
September 23, 2019
The season's short. Episodes are short. And as repetitious as it is within the Murphy oeuvre, the deja vu thing somehow helps the pacing. It sounds odd to say, but: I didn't like The Politician and bring on season two!
September 23, 2019
As The Politician wrestles with its central question - is Payton a man or a construct? - it struggles to keep its own ideas contained, and the result sometimes feels more like a junk drawer cluttered with the creative detritus of Murphy's mind.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 2 of 2