The Terror: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 18, 2021
My terror with The Terror is that the ghosty horror will tip it over somewhat. I'd be happy enough with them playing it straight as a drama of expedition gone wrong.
March 17, 2021
The drama's strength is its claustrophobia, the feeling or foreboding and the complete and utter isolation experienced by the crew.
March 8, 2021
This is masculine derring-do, and this is horror, but it all comes wrapped in top-notch prestige drama and that, I discovered, I can take.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 6, 2021
The creeping sense of unease is excellently done. I mean it as a compliment when I say that I'm not sure I can stick it out for all 10 episodes, knowing what's to come.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 6, 2021
The Terror was a cut above your average survival horror show.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 6, 2021
History, horror and much of human life is here, and it's all done well. However, it never quite catches fire into the blazing glory you might expect from the acting talent involved and the pedigree behind the scenes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 4, 2021
An ageless story of mystery and fear, and easily the most compelling new drama to reach British screens this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 25, 2019
The show touches on the usual themes that underlie such stories-male ego, Western hubris, the absolute power privileged officers wield over poor recruits-but it does so with rare style, intelligence and detail.
December 18, 2018
Through careful writing and by avoiding the genre's more common pitfalls, he Terror offers what is perhaps television's first good example of survival horror.
December 18, 2018
The Terror masterfully grappled with environmental imbalance, the boundaries of masculinity and the finality of death, but its biggest triumph will always be its preference for the individual men.
May 24, 2018
The writing, acting and cinematography are all terrific and the action has been relentless, especially in the last three episodes.
April 9, 2018
The Terror has a judicious hand with its monster story, using it mostly to add an extra top note of dread to the interpersonal conflict and imposing might of near-eternal winter.
April 2, 2018
Good, old-fashioned jolts of adrenaline are always welcome.
March 27, 2018
We're all still caught up in a mad, self-perpetuating cycle of fear. If that's your entry point to The Terror, so be it, but it doesn't have to be. The terror is many things, and one of them is bound to get you.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 27, 2018
The Terror can be scary, but it's real achievement is climatological. The freeze is tangible. When you watch it, wear a sweater.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 27, 2018
The series never bests Simmons's book, but it is powerfully, pleasurably harrowing in its own right.
March 27, 2018
The Terror isn't trying to impress its prestigeness upon you by making everything as nasty and extreme as possible. These may be humans under almost unimaginable pressure, but they're still recognizably human.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 27, 2018
It's an inimitably strange story, and the first episode sets up that eerie sense of discomfort.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 27, 2018
David Kajganich and Soo Hugh's 10-episode nightmare is a work of harrowing historical fiction, one in which supernatural menace looms large over the proceedings, and yet is ultimately less threatening-or terrifying-than man himself.
March 26, 2018
Fans of the book may find themselves missing certain elements of Simmons's go-for-broke ending, but the series has its own riff on those same central themes, one that I found just as arresting and just as involving.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 2