The Tick: Season 1 Reviews

June 29, 2018
In just 10 episodes, Warburton proves why his deadpan, physically intimidating portrayal of the character has endured.
June 29, 2018
As knuckleheaded as he is big-hearted and as single-minded as he is naive, the Tick is hands-down the nicest superhero ever created.
June 29, 2018
If you're looking for a new kind of sitcom to make you laugh, try... or Patrick Warburton's true-blue comic-book antics on Fox's The Tick.
June 29, 2018
The problem is that the plot and character development are about as facile as the Tick himself.
June 29, 2018
"The Tick" is a clever premise, but Warburton's palooka act is so extreme that it gets in the way and, well before the final credits, this gimmick series is on redial, ultimately wearing out its most satirical bits.
June 29, 2018
It is silly in the best way.
June 29, 2018
The pilot is the funniest I've seen since becoming a TV critic in 1995, and subsequent episodes keep the standard high, though without that giddy sense of discovery.
June 28, 2018
Our sense is that this show hadn't quite perfected its rhythm but was well on its way.
June 28, 2018
In the end, the show was becoming a warm representation of professional camaraderie, and how four messed-up people learn to get by.
June 28, 2018
And yet, while "Batman" had the ability to enchant (not to mention entertain viewers of all ages without offending them), "The Tick" falls with a thud, thanks chiefly to its tendency to look for and find its comedy at the bottom of a toilet bowl.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
June 28, 2018
Patrick Warburton is hilarious in the title role, thanks largely to ridiculous dialogue reminiscent of a hyper Dudley Do-Right.
June 28, 2018
Why, it's so unusual, it's even unlike itself.
June 28, 2018
It made me laugh. A lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 28, 2018
The hulking actor savors the physically demanding role and carries himself with witty ease. While wearing a tight, absurd, blue costume with dancing antennas, he does some of the best acting this fall.
June 28, 2018
Let us all hope there's a better fate for "The Tick," a stylishly coy, intelligent stab at humor masquerading as a brightly colored comic book come to life.
January 31, 2018
I love the idea of a superhero with a great big heart and a tiny little brain, and I love Patrick Warburton's fearless performance in the title role of this odd new live-action comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4