The Walking Dead: Season 5 Episode 16 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Walking Dead: Season 5 Episode 16 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Keith Reid-Cleveland
Black Nerd Problems
June 27, 2018

A whopping hour and a half (with commercials) instead of the usual hour. And for good reason, there was a lot of ground to cover.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 14, 2018

For the first time in years, we can be excited by The Walking Dead's unpredictability once more.

Tom Fitzgerald and Lorenzo Marquez
Tom & Lorenzo
June 8, 2018

Just straight-up poor writing, forcing nonsensical and unlikely scenarios on the audience because they can't or won't figure out a plausible way to get from Point A to Point B in the story.

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
April 2, 2015

"Conquer" started off as a slow episode, but the ending delivered a shift in tone at Alexandria and a new cast member for the series.

Steve Wright
SciFiNow
March 30, 2015

It looks like things could be getting good. Pity it's taken until the end of the season to get there.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark A. Perigard
Boston Herald
March 30, 2015

Never bring a gun to a stick fight. That was the first and best lesson of the bloated fifth season finale of AMC's The Walking Dead.

Paul Vigna
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
March 30, 2015

"Conquer," the 90-minute finale, was about two things: how much some characters have changed, and how much they haven't.

Emily VanDerWerff
Vox
March 30, 2015

Rick might be too alert. He might be unable to communicate with normal human beings in normal fashion anymore. But he's ready, dammit.

Laura Prudom
Variety
Top Critic
March 30, 2015

This season has been a tour de force for Andrew Lincoln, whose rousing speech at the end of the episode proved unequivocally why these people need to put their faith in him.

Brian Lowry
Variety
Top Critic
March 30, 2015

if ever there was a show that didn't need to fear the Reaper it's this one.

Ken Tucker
Yahoo! TV
March 30, 2015

If you wanted to see The Walking Dead off a major character, I guess you may have been disappointed. But the finale did a good job of setting up more thrills to come.

David Sims
The Atlantic
Top Critic
March 30, 2015

This finale had a lot to do, and it nailed some of its crescendos a little more smoothly than others.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 30, 2015

It's really no surprise that "Conquer" would come in and deliver a 90-minute episode that felt as confident as it was, even when it wasn't necessarily justifying its extended runtime.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 30, 2015

Season 5's ending wasn't a big exclamation point like some of the show's past season finales.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.3/10
Brian Moylan
Guardian
Top Critic
March 30, 2015

It resolved all the storylines it had been juggling all season, but not without some moral and emotional ambiguity. And it took the time to direct us towards what we can expect when the show returns. There is resolution, but there is still impending doom.

Sean McKenna
TV Fanatic
March 30, 2015

This was such a well-paced and exciting season finale that had me on the edge of my seat... Is it fall yet?

Full Review | Original Score: 4.9/5
Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 30, 2015

Speaking of a well that's been gone to many times, let's talk about the Wolves.

Tim Surette
TV.com
March 30, 2015

As busy as "Conquer" was, the episode should have done a lot more than set up the next season.

Mark Lisanti
Grantland
Top Critic
March 30, 2015

Are we OK with the fact that all of our core heroes will return in the fall, when we'll crank up the old death-watch machine once again? Was the contract fulfilled? Let's say yes.

Luke Gelineau
TV Equals
March 30, 2015

It's a bit frustrating that a 90 minute episode seemed to have muddied the waters more than anything else.

Page 1 of 2