The West Wing: Season 2 (2000 - 2001)



Critic Consensus: President Bartlet is tested by his biggest scandal yet, but The West Wing's approval ratings are way up in a second season that is teeming with dramas on a national scale and burning with an idealistic fervor that will have viewers cheering.


Want to See

Not Interested

Add Rating
My Rating    


Air date: Oct 4, 2000
Air date: Oct 4, 2000
Air date: Oct 18, 2000
Air date: Oct 25, 2000
Air date: Nov 1, 2000
Air date: Nov 8, 2000
Air date: Nov 15, 2000
Air date: Nov 22, 2000
Air date: Nov 29, 2000
Air date: Dec 20, 2000
Show More Episodes

The West Wing: Season 2 Photos

Tv Season Info

After a critically acclaimed freshman season, the Emmy Award-winning series The West Wing returns for a behind-the-scenes look at another year in the life of the eclectic group of frenzied staffers in the Oval Office.


Martin Sheen
as President Josiah Bartlet
Rob Lowe
as Sam Seaborn
John Spencer
as Leo McGarry
Richard Schiff
as Toby Ziegler
Allison Janney
as C.J. Cregg
Janel Moloney
as Donna Moss
Terry McCrea
as FBI Sharpshooter
Stockard Channing
as First Lady Abigail Bartlet
Kathryn Joosten
as Mrs. Landingham
Emily Procter
as Ainsley Hayes
Marlee Matlin
as Joey Lucas
Moira Kelly
as Madeline Hampton
Timothy Davis-Reed
as Reporter No. 2
Anna Deavere Smith
as National Security Adviser
Elisabeth Moss
as Zoey Bartlet
Oliver Platt
as Oliver Babish
Tim Matheson
as Vice President John Hoynes
Jana Lee Hamblin
as Reporter No. 1
Corbin Bernsen
as Rep. Shallick
Randolph Brooks
as Reporter No. 3
Ted McGinley
as Mark Gottfried
Richard Riehle
as Jack Sloan
Mary Kay Place
as Dr. Millicent Griffith
Jolie Jenkins
as Stephanie Gault
Ed Begley Jr.
as Sen. Seth Gillette
James Denton
as Tom Jordan
Deborah Hedwall
as Josephine McGarry
Henry O
as Jhin Wei
George Coe
as Senator Stackhouse
Charlotte Cornwell
as Nadia Kozlowski
Roma Maffia
as Off. Rhonda Sachs
Nina Siemaszko
as Ellie Bartlet
Rebecca Creskoff
as Sarah Jordan
Jacqueline Kim
as Emily Lowenbrau
Cara DeLizia
as Winifred Hooper
John Larroquette
as Lionel Tribbey
Charley Lang
as Paul Skinner
Sam Anderson
as John La Salle
Kathleen York
as Andrea Wyatt
Jason Widener
as Jed Barlet (age 17)
Bradley James
as Agent Donnie
Bradley James
as Agent Donnie
Tom Bower
as Gen. Ed Barrie
Michael O'Neill
as Butterfield
F. William Parker
as Al Caldwell
Jorja Fox
as Agent Gina Tuscano
Robert Knepper
as Morgan Ross
Adam Arkin
as Dr. Stanley Keyworth
Clark Gregg
as Agent Mike Casper
Ivan Allen
as Newscaster
Annie Corley
as Mary Marsh
Alfonso Freeman
as Jeffrey MacKintosh
Daniel Roebuck
as Lt. Buckley
Jordan Baker
as Dr. Sayles
Roger Rees
as Lord John Marbury
Jonah Rooney
as Morton Horn
Allison Smith
as Mallory O'Brien
Brent Hinkley
as Professor Hike
Franc Ross
as Sonny Sanunders
Robert Walden
as Sen. Rossiter
Rocky Carroll
as Corey Sykes
Steven Flynn
as Brookline
Al Rodrigo
as Commander Cale
Jesse Corti
as Dave Stewart
Richard Hoyt-Miller
as Air Force One Steward
Evgeniy Lazarev
as Vasily Konanov
Claire Yarlett
as Dr. Jenna Jacobs
Yo-Yo Ma
as Himself
Timothy Dale Agee
as Steward No. 2
Pat Falls
as Steward
Andy Brewster
as Isobel's Assistat
Alberto Isaac
as Tada Sumatra
Tim Williams
as Reporter
Wendy Haines
as Abbey's Agent
Allen Garfield
as Roger Becker
Ivar Brogger
as Aide No. 1
Eric A. Payne
as Agent at Door
Jack Shearer
as Engineer
Don Chastain
as Reporter No. 2
Cameron Daddo
as Aide No. 2
Robert Curtis Brown
as Jamie Hotchkiss
Amy Turner
as Waitress
Jody Wood
as Cameron
Karen Lockhart
as Staffer at OEOB
Greg Baker
as Interviewer
David Katz
as Staffer
Rich Cooper
as Aide No. 3
Marc Goldsmith
as Staff Aide No. 1
Victor McCay
as Dandridge
Fred Ornstein
as Rep. Wade
Penny Grieco
as TV Anchor
John Prosky
as Aide No. 4
Shana O'Neil
as Protester No. 1
Judy Schown
as Rep. Wakefield
Michael Cunio
as Adamley's Aide
Kevin Fry
as Staff Aide No. 2
Brett Barrett
as Volunteer
Richard Saxton
as TV Anchor
Jodie Hanson
as Caprice
Michael Tomlinson
as Congressman
Sharon Omi
as Gardner
Free Brooks
as Protester No. 2
Sean Anthony Moran
as Dr. Holbrook
Ned Schmidtke
as Industry Leader
Michael Charles Vaccaro
as Protester No. 3
James Kiriyama Lem
as Industry Leader
Shirley Jordan
as FBI Receptionist
Christopher Murray
as Tony Phillips
Harrison Young
as Senator Grissom
Greg Wrangler
as Secret Service Agent
Ron Harper
as Chairman
Dilva Henry
as Newsanchor
Angelo Tiffe
as Greenway
Pete Leal
as Steward
Don R. McManus
as Greg Summerhays
Show More Cast

Critic Reviews for The West Wing Season 2

All Critics (16) | Top Critics (10)

The second season finale is arguably one of the best episodes of television ever created, let alone the best episode of The West Wing.

Sep 25, 2018 | Full Review…

... the most powerful confrontation on The West Wing, if not television in general.

Sep 25, 2018 | Full Review…
Top Critic

For all the haters out there who called the Season 1 finale a "cliché," the two-part follow-up that launches the series into Season 2 proves to be an incredible pay-off for viewers

Sep 25, 2018 | Full Review…
Top Critic

Season two had Ainsley Hayes, "Two Cathedrals," "The Stackhouse Filibuster," "17 People," Bartlett's MS, and Mrs. Landingham. There will be no questions.

Jun 27, 2018 | Full Review…
Top Critic

It hands us a White House out of a Capra movie, with a folksy, avuncular president whose wisdom appears to be limitless... The West Wing, now in its second year, is nonetheless don't-miss TV.

Jun 27, 2018 | Full Review…

Remember Ainsley Hayes?... She disappeared - banished to her basement office, no doubt, so that she wouldn't get in the way of The West Wing's myopic, melodramatic self-righteousness, which seems to deepen with each passing week.

Jun 26, 2018 | Full Review…

It delivered moments of incredible drama and filled compelling storylines with a smart and funny script which was often capable of delivering genuine laugh-out-loud moments.

Sep 25, 2018 | Full Review…

"Two Cathedrals" is one of the best hours of television ever produced.

Sep 25, 2018 | Full Review…

An entertaining mixture of poignancy, tension, and humor-and a strong reminder that this group is essentially a family.

Sep 25, 2018 | Full Review…

It's also, for all the melodrama, a Shakespearean expression of doubt, arrogance, guilt, and anger from one of TV's last great non-antiheroes of the century.

Aug 7, 2018 | Full Review…

Audience Reviews for The West Wing: Season 2


Super Reviewer

News & Features