The X-Files: Season 11 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 2, 2019
it seems that this time they are not in a hurry, and that at some point they have breathed, reflected on what they want to offer the public. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 28, 2018
This season, the series, which turns 25 in September, rolls out current news images - North Korea and President Trump, among them - to remind us of those dangers. Still, it doesn't let that overpower the basic appeal of the show.
December 28, 2018
Early episodes seem stronger this time around with some added timeliness - Russians infiltrating the U.S. government! - and a major mythology reveal in the first episode back.
August 15, 2018
Fortunately, the follow-up season is a vast improvement.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
May 14, 2018
I think they're good enough, and entertaining enough, that I hope more episodes of The X-Files will be produced. To quote Mulder's poster: "I want to believe."
March 30, 2018
It's hard not to be uplifted by Mulder's rambling about hellhounds, the underworld, magic protection circles, and the like, all for Scully's signature eye roll and sigh.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 7, 2018
Happily, with episode one out of the way, The X-Files clicks back into groove, swiftly reminding us why we all loved it so much in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 6, 2018
Happily, with episode one out of the way, The X-Files clicks back into groove, swiftly reminding us why we all loved it so much in the first place.
January 26, 2018
Certainly if you are among those of us who will never stop wanting to believe, more time with our beloved alien chasers as they trade barbs while battling beasties is always cause for celebration.
January 4, 2018
Season 11... is still uneven, but far more satisfying than the warmed-over mysteries of last season.
January 4, 2018
... a chance to make the show relevant to a new generation of viewers who aren't watching out of nostalgia or habit.
January 3, 2018
It's a pleasant, clever, and sometimes inspired reunion with old friends who were right on the verge of wearing out their welcome when they suddenly reminded you of all the reasons why you loved them in the first place.
January 3, 2018
It comes off less as an exercise in brand revival and more a genuine new season of "The X-Files."
January 3, 2018
As agents Mulder and Scully, David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson continue to sporadically exhibit those qualities that made the series pop, from his droll asides to her intensity and skepticism.
January 3, 2018
Duchovny and Anderson still share mad chemistry and, as a bereft mother, Anderson can be downright haunting.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 3, 2018
Indeed, as time goes by, it's somewhat more fun to just appreciate the actors: Mulder and Scully remain fixed in their philosophical positions and reactions to various wild events, but Anderson and Duchovny have become more subtle performers.
January 3, 2018
When The X-Files isn't diving into bottomless rabbit holes of overlapping and pretentiously mystifying conspiracy theories, it can still be great, spooky fun nearly a quarter-century since its debut.
January 3, 2018
The stand-alone "monster of the week" episodes are more enjoyable, and truer to the show's most successful element, and the weird playful ones, at least the one included in the critics' sampler, shine most brightly of all.
January 3, 2018
Now more than ever, The X-Files functions best when it keeps its focus narrow and wipes the slate from week to week. That's the way we're all coping: Trying not to think about our last episode. Or, scarier still, our next.
January 3, 2018
True believers who have devoured most if not all of the 208 previous episodes likely will find it thrilling simply to be strung along anew.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 2