Tiger King: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 1, 2020
Whatever your reservations about the docuseries' ethics, Tiger King is perfectly engineered to be mass consumed by a bored, quarantined populace thirsty for salacious content to make memes about.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 1, 2020
It's a tiger of a tale; exotic is an understatement.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 1, 2020
"Tiger King" is so batshit, it could be a parody.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 1, 2020
The show has an irresistible pull, with its eccentric cast and escalating series of events. It's too bad it didn't do more with the story besides just hacking it up and throwing bloody chunks at ravenous Netflix viewers.
March 31, 2020
It is the best sort of crowd-pleasing documentary, titillating yet sweeping in its scope and the breadth of its amazing access and elaborate story building.
Full Review | Original Score: B +
March 30, 2020
It's a lot to unpack, and I highly recommend you watch it because it is 100% gold entertainment.
March 30, 2020
As satisfying, depressing, and compelling the human stories of Tiger King are, how they parallel this moment in history is what makes it a worthy ascendant into the pantheon of cultural touchstones.
March 30, 2020
The show is a cautionary tale of letting those feuds and escalations get out of control.
March 30, 2020
Tiger King is the first great fictional unifier of the coronavirus age. Ironically, however, it is about a stratum of society that could be partially blamed for the apocalypse that we currently find ourselves engulfed by - politically and environmentally.
March 29, 2020
Netflix's Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness about tiger enthusiast, Joe Exotic, is a must see for lovers of true crime, Grey Gardens, or early aughts soap opera Passions.
March 28, 2020
While Tiger King may be comfort food on TV for some, it brings me little comfort. I get why you like it, but I don't get why you like it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 27, 2020
Tiger King exposes the furry underbelly of a big-cat community I'd never known about, in which the lines between loving wild animals and exploiting them are never quite clear. In the end, I felt queasy at what I had seen, but the time sure had flown.
March 27, 2020
A compelling true-crime story full of shocks.
March 27, 2020
Nothing in this-not the bad clothes, the bad haircuts, the lamentable life choices-suggests an origin here on Earth. Or maybe I just need to get out more.
March 27, 2020
While true crime generally rules Netflix, Tiger King is really something else-a series with the goal to entertain its viewers with its win-at-all-costs battle for a kingdom.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 27, 2020
Just when you think you know exactly what is happening, it takes a quick turn to one side - getting crazier & crazier. And when it ends? You will be begging for a season two.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 27, 2020
Among the series' endless qualities, the vivacity of the characters towers above all. Every one of these insanely idiosyncratic individuals feels like they're being played by the world's greatest character actor giving their career-best performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 26, 2020
If you are a fan of documents centered around the darkest side of the country of opportunities, you better watch this. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 25, 2020
The characters are larger than life, their backstories are often heartbreaking, their motivations and actions are highly questionable -- sometimes flat-out criminal -- and the trajectory of the story is never remotely predictable.
Top Critic
March 25, 2020
Tiger King is genuinely compulsive viewing.
Page 1 of 3