Too Old to Die Young: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 29, 2020
Perhaps when I've been through all 15 or so hours of the series I'll conclude it adds up to very little. But I've gotta admit, I want to see where it takes me.
June 26, 2020
I have plenty of reservations about its increasingly convoluted, self-destructing themes, but this is definitely a unique TV event.
January 17, 2020
Too Old to Die Young makes a little go much longer than one might expect, sticking to the center of its moral compass while plunging south.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 8, 2020
So yeah, the length. It's not the episode duration that's the problem, but how little happens and for how long in each 60-80 minute instalment.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 19, 2019
I've employed it as a brooding mood: the sensation that much film noir brings; it's fatal but the watcher, or in this case, largely listener, it's not the one who dies. Does any of this elevate Refn from trash to flash, what justifies his sinister glam[?]
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 2, 2019
An aesthetic so nonchalant that every murder and rape feels like a casual shrug; a deadpan performance from Teller that would easily win a children's game of musical statues.
September 4, 2019
[Too Old to Die Young] perhaps demands a high dose of patience, but once the entrance is crossed, it is one of the most stimulating and gloriously failed parties. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 28, 2019
Indulgent, violent mystery series about a corrupt cop.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 19, 2019
The final chase sequence of episode 5, set to Barry Manilow's Mandy, ranks as some of the director's best work of all time. From the pulsating score to the beautiful lensing, Too Old To Die Young is a challenge to sit through but ultimately a unique one.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 19, 2019
I think you can project whatever meaning you want onto Too Old to Die Young. It can be a prescient masterwork, a brilliant reflection of the times, or an excuse to cobble together some really cool car chases and nightclub sequences...
July 8, 2019
The series makes the most of the freedom afforded to it by being hosted on Amazon... [but] there are times when it's hard not to wish for the moments of decency that Broadcasting Standards would insist on.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
July 5, 2019
The series is addictive, in an unpleasant sort of way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 3, 2019
What's hypnotic for 100 minutes becomes an agonizing anesthetic when it's stretched out to 10-plus hours, and by slooooowwwwing everything down, Refn has robbed a potentially thrilling crime-ride of any possible vitality.
June 27, 2019
Refn made his name with tense and gruesome crime films in his native Denmark; here he gets to luxuriate at length.
June 25, 2019
A hypnotic drama. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 21, 2019
This show is basically Andrei Tarkovsky's Narcos. What's not to like?
June 18, 2019
The sense that you're watching something from an auteur who somehow believes he's slumming virtually emanates from your screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 17, 2019
Fight through the less cohesive moments, and there will be deeply rewarding moments, maybe not of character, but of artistic and cathartic release.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 17, 2019
Too Old To Die Young is especially nihilistic, even by NWR's insane standards. It's exhausting and excruciating in equal measure, but it is also an endlessly fascinating addition to a great filmmaker's singular body of work.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2019
Given an entire season to play with, Refn has gotten lost in his own stylistic excesses.
Page 1 of 2