True Blood: Season 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 23, 2018
True Blood is dominated by heated emotions and tortured love, but there continues to be spiky satire and camp at every turn.
June 23, 2018
Rather than running through a lot of well-written, well-acted, well-edited expository material, True Blood was back to playing on our hearts and minds and throats.
June 19, 2018
While I wasn't thrilled with the over-stuffing of this episode, I was truly excited (in more ways than one) to see my favorite characters back again.
May 15, 2018
True Blood is the TV equivalent of the perfect summer beach book. It's funny, it's sexy, it's imaginative, it's outrageous.
February 7, 2018
True Blood vibrates at a level of inspired wackiness so high that its consistency is hard to determine.
October 31, 2017
HBO's Gothic hit remains as sexy, bloody and convoluted as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 20, 2010
More than just a grown-up, hard-R "Twilight," it's become the guiltiest of check-your-brain-at-the-door pleasures.
June 20, 2010
"True Blood'' is dominated by heated emotions and tortured love, but there continues to be spiky satire and camp at every turn.
June 20, 2010
True Blood plummets me into a world so dark and dirty and hilarious and unnerving that it glamours me into a placid state, then leaves me wanting more.
June 20, 2010
By the middle of the second episode, the show begins to gain traction and sucks you in with its new set of tantalizing mysteries.
June 20, 2010
There's just nothing else on TV with this level of jubilant satire.
June 20, 2010
This season the vamps and the shape-shifting alcoholics find themselves with too many werewolves on their hands. And the werewolves are pretty terrifying and very vicious. Very. How can you not love that?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 20, 2010
With so much going on, it's only a matter of time before the camera cuts to something even more fascinating, something that, given the subject matter, is often shockingly good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 20, 2010
When "True Blood" does slow down to provide the occasional character moment, the top-notch cast never fails to nail the moment; they always make the most of what they're given.
June 20, 2010
"True Blood" is a soap opera at its core, which is why it is so overpopulated with sexy characters.
June 20, 2010
Those of you who love "True Blood" for its soapy mix of sex and horror - and occasional flashes of humor - nothing important is missing from the three episodes I've seen of the new season.
June 20, 2010
Many viewers probably come to "True Blood" for the thrills and the romance but it's the humor that allows the show to rise a step above similar TV fare.
June 20, 2010
Alexander Skarsgard, as vampire Eric, dominates the cast with his chic, decadent pallor. Death becomes him, totally.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 20, 2010
The first three hours are True Blood at its goriest, sexiest and strangest as an old fondness for naked torsos and severed limbs shares airspace with a newfound interest in Nazi werewolves and misbehaving monarchs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
June 20, 2010
"Hot Sexy Vampires in Love!" Where do I sign up for that? Silly, gross, soapy, mysterious, intriguing, exotic, erotic "True Blood" is fun.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 2