Twin Peaks: The Return - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Twin Peaks: The Return Reviews

Page 1 of 4
November 2, 2017
The new series was exactly as we should have expected -- not like the original or the follow-up as fans had speculated but a continuation of the two, although still absolutely modern and unique.
October 16, 2017
I have no idea what I just witnessed. I don't mean to be cute; I don't know exactly what to say about an intrinsically weird series that returned twenty-five years later, as esoteric as ever.
September 21, 2017
David Lynch's cult-classic revival is exactly as imaginative-and as uncomfortable-as it always needed to be.
September 11, 2017
Those wanting answers, or in the very least closure, might understandably feel a little adrift right now, but it can't be denied that Peaks came back as a true artistic force that challenged just about every storytelling convention we know.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
September 11, 2017
That's what Twin Peaks might be, after it's all said and done. Not a detective caper, or gumshoe sendup, not a celebration of American tropes from diners to police stations, but strictly Dada.
September 6, 2017
It stopped feeling like a TV show to me, at some point, and started feeling like a gift.
September 5, 2017
As wayyy out there as Twin Peaks can get -- and it zoomed even farther beyond the outer limits than I thought it would this season -- watching it can still be remarkably personal.
September 5, 2017
What we just witnessed was unmatched in the medium's history.
August 28, 2017
[David lynch] has burst out of the glass box of kitschy remembrance. . .giving us the brilliant, the slick, the sick; the weird, of course, but the deeply human that made Twin Peaks so special all those years ago.
August 15, 2017
The Return isn't a true follow-up to Twin Peaks. It's something bigger, stranger, and far more interesting.
July 17, 2017
Twin Peaks: Return feels like hard work, like taking a three hundred level abstract art class when you have a load of 21 credits. The show makes my mind hurt! Yet, I find that I can't take my eyes off the screen when it's on.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 17, 2017
[Lynch is] in experimental filmmaker mode and he doesn't care if he's liked or not or who's coming with him. Everyone wanted the nostalgia thing, and it's not that. Now every character has many doppelgangers, and every character is in every dimension.
June 29, 2017
I'm a fan of TV that breaks the rules. But for me, there are minimum requirements for coherence. And Twin Peaks is self-indulgently messing with viewers.
June 28, 2017
I love Twin Peaks because it represents David Lynch at his most gleefully ornery. The man can do whatever he likes. I'm in deep.
June 25, 2017
When a multimedia phenomenon comes as heavily coded as this, the onus is on the viewer to piece together all its oddball fragments and episodic epiphanies into a coherent whole, as if such deciphering might lead to... a grand theory of everything.
June 22, 2017
It does make me think about what sort of person I am, and how I want to respond to the unsteady ground around me.
June 21, 2017
The Twin Peaks revival is perfect. I'm in deep with it. It's easily the best series of the year so far. And, although this might seem like heresy to long-time fans, I think it might actually be better than the original.
June 13, 2017
Four episodes in, it's already delivering a recognizably addictive mix of the macabre, the quotidian, the folksy, the soapy, the sick, the surreal, and the downright weird. It may be even better than 1990's revelatory first season.
June 9, 2017
This is an altogether shiftier beast, haunting and beautiful when it wants to be; ugly and aggressively off-putting when it doesn't.
June 6, 2017
This is an entertaining and intriguing return to form that will delight fans and maybe-just maybe-pull in a new audience happy to overlook the slow pace and random non sequiturs in return for a glimpse into Lynch's inimitable, magical, dystopian world.
Page 1 of 4