Twin Peaks: The Return - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Twin Peaks: The Return Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 17, 2017
Twin Peaks: Return feels like hard work, like taking a three hundred level abstract art class when you have a load of 21 credits. The show makes my mind hurt! Yet, I find that I can't take my eyes off the screen when it's on.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 17, 2017
[Lynch is] in experimental filmmaker mode and he doesn't care if he's liked or not or who's coming with him. Everyone wanted the nostalgia thing, and it's not that. Now every character has many doppelgangers, and every character is in every dimension.
June 29, 2017
I'm a fan of TV that breaks the rules. But for me, there are minimum requirements for coherence. And Twin Peaks is self-indulgently messing with viewers.
June 28, 2017
I love Twin Peaks because it represents David Lynch at his most gleefully ornery. The man can do whatever he likes. I'm in deep.
June 25, 2017
When a multimedia phenomenon comes as heavily coded as this, the onus is on the viewer to piece together all its oddball fragments and episodic epiphanies into a coherent whole, as if such deciphering might lead to... a grand theory of everything.
June 22, 2017
It does make me think about what sort of person I am, and how I want to respond to the unsteady ground around me.
June 21, 2017
The Twin Peaks revival is perfect. I'm in deep with it. It's easily the best series of the year so far. And, although this might seem like heresy to long-time fans, I think it might actually be better than the original.
June 13, 2017
Four episodes in, it's already delivering a recognizably addictive mix of the macabre, the quotidian, the folksy, the soapy, the sick, the surreal, and the downright weird. It may be even better than 1990's revelatory first season.
June 9, 2017
This is an altogether shiftier beast, haunting and beautiful when it wants to be; ugly and aggressively off-putting when it doesn't.
June 6, 2017
This is an entertaining and intriguing return to form that will delight fans and maybe-just maybe-pull in a new audience happy to overlook the slow pace and random non sequiturs in return for a glimpse into Lynch's inimitable, magical, dystopian world.
June 6, 2017
Above all, the new Twin Peaks is gloriously trippy.
June 2, 2017
A collection of rambling and samey set pieces amateurishly glued together by a frankly adolescent conviction that weirdness in any form -- hey, let's not bother with a plot -- can pass for clever and interesting, it should never have been made.
May 30, 2017
Yes, I think Mr Lynch may have done it again. Just call me a Peaks freak, but I think I know what's going on, or will in about 25 years; for the moment, jes' enjoying the ride, ma'am, and hugely.
May 30, 2017
This doesn't feel like the Twin Peaks we know and love and that's because it's not.
May 30, 2017
It's a credit to Lynch that he has not adapted his style to suit TV's more muted sensibilities (even in this Golden Age) but remained true to what he does best.
May 30, 2017
It's a rollercoaster of a lucid dream. I can't wait to see more.
May 26, 2017
So far Twin Peaks: The Return is jarring, disturbing, frustrating, fascinating, a little bit funny, and a lot weird. I hope we get to spend more time in Twin Peaks soon, but I'm in it for the full run.
May 26, 2017
The Twin Peaks reboot is not the fusion of arthouse and mainstream sensibilities that viewers might expect. It's pure David Lynch -- and it's glorious.
May 24, 2017
Twin Peaks has become the show from another place, the darkness of future past, a geist that had to travel in time to find its zeit.
May 24, 2017
What seems clear is that Twin Peaks: The Return will rank as one of TV's most epic indulgences, so infatuated with its own fascinating and at times narcotizing weirdness that its value to the viewer will depend on their eagerness to ride along.
Page 1 of 4