Tyrant: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 2, 2019
As a creaky, unusually violent and grandiose soap, Tyrant kind of works. But as a piece of revolutionary television, it's a failed state.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 2, 2019
While noting the problems with the pilot, I am intrigued by it. I want to see where it goes, and goddamnit, I trust FX, which hasn't let us down yet in the drama department.
April 2, 2019
It's a show that could start an important dialogue, or it could just be a glossy and opulent family drama. Either way, like Bassam, I feel compelled to stay.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 24, 2018
If The Honourable Woman was a crossword without clues, this is more like a shopping list scrawled in felt pen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 6, 2016
Some ambitious but flawed dramas get better the more you watch. Tyrant is not one of them.
February 26, 2015
Tyrant may be the most fascinating show of the summer.
August 7, 2014
While its lack of political commentary may have been a conscious exclusion, "Tyrant" needs to find a voice somewhere.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 30, 2014
An intriguing yet ultimately flawed final product that, for most critics at least, plays like a very expensive mistake.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 30, 2014
It's tough to assume fruit will bare when so many of the show's characters are written so poorly.
Top Critic
June 26, 2014
[The] viewers get a family soap opera masquerading as something more; a gritty fairy tale in which the Americanized characters are the most virtuous and figures regularly act in ways that make little sense beyond furthering the story.
June 26, 2014
This opening episode was focused on these messed up people, however familiar some of the focus happened to be. That's the show, and it's one that I'm excited to see unfold over the next nine weeks.
June 25, 2014
Events in the first episode - which include some graphic violence and not one but two disturbing rape scenes - moved along quickly enough to keep me involved. Unfortunately, subsequent episodes left me less enthusiastic about the whole ordeal.
June 25, 2014
We're immediately stuck with a premise we're forced to believe not because it makes sense but because it makes sense for the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.3/10
June 25, 2014
Overall, I did have some issues with the details of the story, but I was engrossed in the story from start to finish. It was dark and depressing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.6/5
June 25, 2014
The cast, and the potential arc of the well-performed lead, will keep audiences interested but this show needs to be more engaging on an episode-to-episode level soon or they'll move on.
June 25, 2014
It's just a good story, cleverly told.
June 25, 2014
Tyrant is just offensively boring.
June 25, 2014
The story doesn't just feel like a deliberate homage to The Godfather; it feels like an uninspired mash-up of several prominent television tropes from the last 15 years or so.
June 25, 2014
Tyrant is ambitious, pretty, and stands ready to deliver all sorts of unique drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.6/10
June 25, 2014
It's surprising to me that this ever got past the development stage, because nothing about Tyrant truly works. It's a halting, strained hodgepodge that ends up being an awkward mixture of bland and offensive.
Page 1 of 3