Tyrant: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 17, 2020
Some of the acting and directing leaves much to be desired. But because it is such a fresh story to come on the small screen, Tyrant is definitely a must-watch.
April 2, 2019
While noting the problems with the pilot, I am intrigued by it. I want to see where it goes, and goddamnit, I trust FX, which hasn't let us down yet in the drama department.
April 2, 2019
It's a show that could start an important dialogue, or it could just be a glossy and opulent family drama. Either way, like Bassam, I feel compelled to stay.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 26, 2015
Tyrant may be the most fascinating show of the summer.
August 7, 2014
While its lack of political commentary may have been a conscious exclusion, "Tyrant" needs to find a voice somewhere.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 26, 2014
This opening episode was focused on these messed up people, however familiar some of the focus happened to be. That's the show, and it's one that I'm excited to see unfold over the next nine weeks.
June 25, 2014
Overall, I did have some issues with the details of the story, but I was engrossed in the story from start to finish. It was dark and depressing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.6/5
June 25, 2014
The cast, and the potential arc of the well-performed lead, will keep audiences interested but this show needs to be more engaging on an episode-to-episode level soon or they'll move on.
June 25, 2014
It's just a good story, cleverly told.
June 25, 2014
Tyrant is ambitious, pretty, and stands ready to deliver all sorts of unique drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.6/10
June 25, 2014
I've seen most of the pilots for the new shows on the broadcast networks this fall, and this is better than any I've seen.
June 25, 2014
Tyrant is the most engrossing new show of the summer.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 25, 2014
Out of the gate, Tyrant grabs your attention with a solid pilot episode. It's entertaining, thought provoking, and fans of FX will be easily drawn to the family drama at the core of a much larger story of political unrest in the Middle East.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
June 24, 2014
The unusual setting and cast members like Justin Kirk make it seem to have flashes of promise.
June 24, 2014
Even with the problems in the early episodes, the drama has plenty of opportunities for greatness.
June 24, 2014
Tyrant strives to be big, momentous and powerful. But while sometimes jabbing to good effect, it lacks a heavyweight's punch.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 24, 2014
Tyrant gets off to an engrossing start as it melds family drama with political intrigue and a clash of cultures.
June 24, 2014
Still one of the best new shows of the summer, Tyrant only disappoints because I had hoped for more. And I still do.
June 24, 2014
Tyrant is well made and enjoyable, but the fish-out-of-water subplot is the show's weak spot.
June 24, 2014
Given the executive producers' resumes... and the stronger moments of the pilot, Tyrant" is worth a chance.
Page 1 of 2