Under the Dome: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 29, 2019
The first hour delivers lots of popcorn thrills. And over coming episodes, you just know the town's resources will dwindle, anxieties will increase, alliances will be formed and dark secrets will be revealed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 25, 2013
It's summer, it's Stephen King, it's small-town Pennsylvania, and it's a great concept; I'm in.
June 25, 2013
More so than most series, mystery-driven genre shows demand a wait-and-see attitude from viewers, so I'm tamping my enthusiasm accordingly. But this Dome is promising.
June 25, 2013
It's not profound and it may take a while to reach terrifying, but as a campfire story, a fresh batch of characters in a time-tested tale, sure, why not?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 25, 2013
The intriguing Stephen King adaption is filled with storytelling promise.
June 25, 2013
Based on the pilot episode -- with its taut script, strong performances and special effects that are impressive without being overwhelming -- there's hope that Under The Dome might measure up to its unsettling print progenitor.
June 25, 2013
The episode is an effective stage-setter, focused mainly on the townspeople's reaction to suddenly being cut off from the world and less on the mechanics of living in a dome without power and a limited supply of food.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 25, 2013
What happens when the world's most prolific writer, Stephen King, and the insanely prolific producer Steven Spielberg get together? What else? You know bad things will befall good people in a small town, of course.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
June 25, 2013
Looks like a summer winner.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 25, 2013
To build a dome, one has to start with a solid base and make sure all the pieces fit together. The process is predictable but oddly satisfying to watch.
June 24, 2013
Based on just one episode, it's hard to tell how the series will unfold, but the mood, threatening, uneasy, a little kinky, is there, and that just might be enough.
June 24, 2013
The pilot episode of Brian K. Vaughan's television adaptation of Under the Dome is a very good advertisement for seeing what else is on TV this Monday at 10 p.m.
June 24, 2013
Dean Norris getting work makes the whole world happier.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 24, 2013
I'm very curious to see how this situation will play out over a longer stretch of time than the week King's novel covers.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 24, 2013
It doesn't waste any time. We get our first mystery in the first scene.
June 24, 2013
It's a potentially interesting way of dramatizing and heightening the state of small-town claustrophobia: what if this little place, which seemed like the whole world, suddenly essentially became the entire world?
June 23, 2013
The series is far less effective than King is on the page at weaving together and pacing the disparate story lines. And at generating fright.
June 23, 2013
So much is working against Under the Dome, it's hard to get genuinely excited.
June 23, 2013
Bite on Part 1 and you're going to be there for Part 2, or at least the start of it.
June 23, 2013
I could watch an entire hour of things just running into the dome.
Page 1 of 2