Welcome to Sweden: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 2, 2018
With comedy this uninspired, you'd be better off trading these stale sitcoms for classic reruns.
August 7, 2014
"Welcome to Sweden" is the antithesis to "Parks and Recreation."
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 14, 2014
Welcome to Sweden mines laughs from mildly uncomfortable situations and awkwardness in a way that no NBC show has since the good old days of the Steve Carell-lead Office.
July 14, 2014
It's flush with endearment and sincerity. Somehow, it avoids the saccharine.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.3/10
July 11, 2014
Bruce, in shame, hides his American identity. A sorry image, much like the rest of the eager-to-please comic self on display in the show-not the sort to induce warm laughter.
July 10, 2014
The fish-out-of-water premise of Welcome to Sweden may be a familiar launch pad on which to build a comedy series, but very little of the show feels familiar.
July 10, 2014
The Poehlers' sense of comedic timing is eerie and wonderful.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 10, 2014
It's an intriguing setup, one whose novel premise and setting refreshes musty sitcom setups.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 10, 2014
Looks like Amy Poehler isn't the only one in the family with a sharpened funny bone. Brother Greg Poehler is quite charming in Welcome to Sweden.
July 10, 2014
Stick with it. NBC provided all ten episodes (lucky me!) and the more I watched, the more I fell in love with it.
July 10, 2014
Even the 'lost in translation' laughs are not original, with the culture clash jokes retreading well-worn territory.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 10, 2014
Welcome to Sweden is the best thing to happen to broadcast-network comedy since Modern Family. Sweet, smart and quickly addictive, it's a classic cross-cultural romantic comedy with top notes of satire, but a brave and true heart.
July 10, 2014
Welcome to Sweden is the best show starring a Poehler that's been on in years; it's a trip that took a moment of getting used to, but one I was glad I took.
July 10, 2014
Welcome to Sweden is engaging for its exotic Scandinavian setting and warm visual style. It's a winning mix of low-key charm and robust humor.
July 10, 2014
Welcome to Sweden explores less familiar territory and best of all, is not in the least bit zany.
July 10, 2014
Welcome to Sweden... is actually pretty charming.
July 9, 2014
Luckily for us, and for the show's distinct sense of place, much of the dialogue spoken by the natives is subtitled, losing none of its wry humor in translation as Emma's family tries to make sense of this sheepish newcomer, and vice versa.
July 9, 2014
Although it might get lost in TV's busier seasons, right now Welcome to Sweden is very welcome.
July 9, 2014
For the show itself, we're in, hook, line and rkor. OK, I admit: I had to look that one up - it means shrimp.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 8, 2014
"Cute" isn't always a flattering term in TV circles, but it happily applies to Welcome to Sweden. Summer might be the time to try this out, but with any kind of success, NBC could have an appealing utility player for next season.
Page 1 of 2