Westworld: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 18, 2019
The show doesn't think through ethical connections between art and life. It just plays a shell game with its metaphors.
February 13, 2019
The vast amounts of terror dispensed on characters of color makes for a disturbing picture.
January 25, 2019
Westworld is a visually complex world with an equally complex storyline. It is a challenge to keep up with, and that can only be a good thing.
January 18, 2019
Jonathan Nolan and Lisa Joy have created a spectacular series that has faith in the intelligence of its audience and is not afraid to play with the huge themes of morality, free will and consciousness.
October 18, 2018
Amid actual cowboys and robots, it had a plot that made you sit up and try.
August 22, 2018
Why on earth anyone would want to leave that world and enter the dusty simulation of a frontier town beats me. Why this anxiety about robots or computer technology is still popular also beats me.
August 21, 2018
Something that us geeks have continued cravings for post-Battlestar Galactica. Series like The Expanse, Killjoys, and Dark Matter definitely scratch that itch but this brings sci-fi back down to earth.
August 21, 2018
Westworld is as challenging as the work of trying to interpret it.
August 19, 2018
I highly recommend that everyone give the pilot a shot and see if the show will be worth your time. HBO has taken their time with this series and spent a large amount of money producing it, and it seems to be a large focus for their network.
July 10, 2018
The HBO series poses philosophical questions in a science fiction background and a plot with different layers that play with expectations and narrative conventions. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 28, 2018
I don't have high hopes for Westworld. The women Hosts are limited.
June 21, 2018
While there are certainly clunky moments in the pilot, it's overall promising and the premise is fascinating - plus there's an all-star cast behind it.
June 19, 2018
There's a great tale unfolding here, if the creators could just step out of its way to let it develop.
May 22, 2018
Westworld's appeal comes from its intricate worldbuilding: it's a game within a game in every possible sense.
May 1, 2018
Westworld producers Jonathan Nolan and Lisa Joy have created a beautiful look at a complex subject through a visually stunning piece of art. It's thought-provoking. It's gut-wrenching. It's maddening. And I simply cannot wait for the saga to continue.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 7, 2018
But despite familiar themes and an ill-judged inciting incident, there's a lot to enjoy and admire in its unsettling, visually lush pilot.
January 22, 2018
Westworld hit me, on multiple levels, as to what I consider good entertainment.
December 20, 2017
The Westworld pilot is good, but I'm still holding my breath before I'm willing to commit to saying that this show will be great.
November 6, 2017
Westworld: Season One may take a few episodes before the plotlines start to develop, but when they do, you're treated to a fascinating blend of drama and science-fiction, featuring a fantastic cast, incredible production design, and a marvelous score.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 29, 2017
Despite familiar themes and an ill-judged inciting incident, there's a lot to enjoy and admire in its unsettling, visually lush pilot.
Page 1 of 5