Westworld: Season 3 Reviews

December 22, 2020
I'm fully aware that I'm about to go into my closet and dig out my Goldilocks wig when I complain about this, but this new, simpler Westworld is also no fun.
December 22, 2020
When nothing in "Westworld" is reliably real, there's little for viewers to cling to, which makes the entire enterprise more exasperating than cleverly twisty drama.
November 17, 2020
While the third season continues to impress with its visual elements and stellar cast, it also continues having issues with its writing, presenting a convoluted, messy, and often sluggish narrative that makes for another bland and forgettable outing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 24, 2020
Westworld has become a bad science fiction movie. A mediocre and boring season of a series that promised much more than what we have seen. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 15, 2020
I think this show has fallen into the trap, which has happened with Killing Eve and a lot of other TV dramas: they have a beginning, they have a middle and no idea of an end.
July 3, 2020
Style over substance, and setup without proper payoff have been recurring problems for Westworld. Putting on a new skin in season 3 wasn't going to cover that.
June 4, 2020
Westworld's third season tried to say 'the future is female,' but undermines its own messaging.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 8, 2020
Despite its lesser ambitions, there was still beauty then, and elegance. But now there is only disarray. Now it's just a f--king trash heap.
May 6, 2020
Westworld abandons its convoluted to-and-fro timeline - but also abandons a lot of what made it good.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
May 4, 2020
This is the same series that spends too long on setup without sufficient delivery, one that prizes cool fights over reasons behind them. More often than not, the series is as soulless and hollow as the corrupt theme park it portrays.
May 4, 2020
It's still wilfully confusing, you still can't trust your eyes, characters still say wafty lines like "It would be an inconvenience to have to kill you".
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 7, 2020
For a show that regularly displays breathtaking technical mastery, and pairs it with so many compelling, laudable performances, there's an inescapable feeling of emptiness accompanying every shocking death or big plot reveal on Westworld.
March 16, 2020
The show has become increasingly incomprehensible, at least for anyone not willing to put in the work trying to remember all the assorted connections.
March 13, 2020
It's the most frustratingly not-quite-there show on TV: structurally bold, visually arresting, often brilliantly acted, show-off-ily erudite... and woefully predisposed to turn subtext into text.
March 11, 2020
Like Maeve says, none of it matters, because none of it feels real... As a result, everything looks cool, but rings hollow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 11, 2020
I just miss the old Westworld, really: an imperfect but sweeping series with a shivery kind of poetry at its heart. That lyricism, the show's philosophical murmur, is largely drowned out in Season 3.
March 11, 2020
It's a beautifully shot show, featuring some of TV's most ambitious special effects, but you could take nearly every dialogue-lite scene and turn it into a commercial for perfume or some luxury automobile.
March 6, 2020
My main feeling is I really enjoyed the show about cowboy robots in a theme park that apparently ended years ago.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 6, 2020
Westworld wants to generate another existential conversation in Season 3, but even as the show swaps settings and introduces new faces, the details that make it come to life are perfunctory.