Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 19, 2018
It's generating new material while referencing 15-year-old material. And it's broken neatly into half-hour episodes. No one expects the Rolling Stones to be as energetic onstage as they were 30 years ago, but we're grateful for what we get.
November 23, 2017
As funny as First Day of Camp is, 'euphoric' is truly the most accurate adjective for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 15, 2017
These actors and many, many more return (with a few newbies!) to take us on a camp-tastic voyage through the summer of 1981.
August 28, 2017
So: How is Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp, anyway? I loved it. Of course I did. I'm in the target demographic.
November 11, 2015
Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp is both a reunion and a reminder of a slightly more innocent time.
August 19, 2015
What a blast it is, especially considering how much of a disaster it could have been.
August 19, 2015
But I never expected it to be quite as great, lively, and funny as it was.
August 13, 2015
First Day of Camp maintains and builds on the unusual comic absurdity previously unique to Wet Hot American Summer the film.
August 7, 2015
In this age, no dead horse can be beaten enough. The music's never gone. There can always be more. Just because.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 6, 2015
By far the funniest thing I've seen all year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.75/5
August 5, 2015
I'm glad I gave it a shot past a clunky, misfiring first episode, but the series - like a lot of reunions - is a victory lap without much consequence, despite the obvious sweat equity that was put into making it.
August 4, 2015
The joke is even more sublimely ridiculous now that the actors are flirting with middle age.
August 3, 2015
Apart from delivering the same kind of low-key, charming laughs that the original film did, First Day thrives by mixing the kind of callbacks and dot connecting that drives most prequels with a playful poking at the conventions of the prequel.
August 3, 2015
Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp is a rarity: a sitcom that is funnier than the movie that inspired it.
August 3, 2015
It might legitimately be called ahead of its time.
August 3, 2015
Teen movies usually expect us to suspend disbelief as regards the casting convention that allows adolescent characters to be played by much older actors, but here that absurdity is relentlessly mined for laughs.
August 3, 2015
The real highlights of First Day of Camp have been the new additions and WTF twists.
August 2, 2015
Too often "jokes" were laboured in this vein, while a conveyor belt of fine actors, from Jason Schwartzman to Janeane Garofalo, were left with little space to act.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 2, 2015
Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp gets a lot of mileage out of funny names, ridiculous pop culture references and wildly inconsistent accents.
August 2, 2015
The 8-episode series mostly succeeds by sheer force of will. The viewers are so bombarded by jokes that something is bound to tickle you eventually-though truth be told it may take awhile.
Page 1 of 3